PDA

View Full Version : TK Archers VS Mark of nurgle?



warpmaster
27-08-2009, 05:53
Mark of Nurgle means that any enemy archer get -1 to there BS so do TK archers hit on +6 or do they still always hit on +5s

Skywave
27-08-2009, 06:19
The rule say that they never get penalty/bonus to hit, so I think getting -1 BS would effectively means hitting on 6+.

warpmaster
27-08-2009, 07:26
The rule say that they never get penalty/bonus to hit, so I think getting -1 BS would effectively means hitting on 6+.

Really ,isn't getting a -1 to BS still a penalty?

theunwantedbeing
27-08-2009, 07:42
Mark of Nurgle means that any enemy archer get -1 to there BS so do TK archers hit on +6 or do they still always hit on +5s

Tomb king archers do not always hit on a 5+.

Skywave
27-08-2009, 07:49
Really ,isn't getting a -1 to BS still a penalty?

That's a characteristic penalty, not a to-hit penalty. The to-hit modifiers on page 28 of the rule book is what the TK archers ignore.

Pirate Jimm
27-08-2009, 09:38
Well unless it has been modified by an FAQ or Errata, the effect the mark of Nurgle has on shooting is -1 to hit, not -1 BS. It says quite clearly in the WoC book- "...-1 to hit for shooting attacks and -1 WS when in base contact...".

So the skellies would still be hitting on a 5+.

Necromancy Black
27-08-2009, 10:56
Well unless it has been modified by an FAQ or Errata


It was. Very first part of the WoC FAQ.

Odin
27-08-2009, 11:08
Yup indeed, Tomb King archers are reduced to Bs1 when shooting at models with the Mark of Nurgle, so need 6s to hit.

Now if only I could get a similar thing for my Wood Elves, maybe they wouldn't be annihilated by skeleton archers quite so horribly easily.

Pirate Jimm
27-08-2009, 11:41
It was. Very first part of the WoC FAQ.

Well there you go then, they're hitting on 6's.

warpmaster
27-08-2009, 20:25
Cheers all

Lord Dan
27-08-2009, 20:56
Don't the bows of the asp specifically state that they will always hit on a 5+? I'm pretty sure it doesn't say: "They have no modifiers, and use their normal BS" but literally says: "They hit on a 5+". Can anyone validate this?

Loq-Gor
27-08-2009, 21:04
It says penalties and bonuses, not always on a 5+.

gdsora
27-08-2009, 21:25
Ugh, Its correct, thanks to Mark of Nurgle our BS is lowered, thus changing what we hit on. Not causing a penalty (like cover bonus to) occur

it seems the rule change in the faq did nothing other then to effect Tomb Kings

Nurgling Chieftain
27-08-2009, 21:34
Frankly, I think it was a major clarification of a rule that strictly speaking made no sense as it was originally written. That particular part of it, though, does seem oddly directed at Tomb Kings.

nosferatu1001
27-08-2009, 21:37
It says "in practice this means....5+" however it is simply explaining what the effect is - it does not state it will always be 5+.. MoN does (now) affect TK more than most!

gdsora
27-08-2009, 21:50
Frankly, I think it was a major clarification of a rule that strictly speaking made no sense as it was originally written. That particular part of it, though, does seem oddly directed at Tomb Kings.

Haha, i alwasy thought i was clear (it was just another -1 modifier and seemed fluffier, cause i dont see how something so far away is gonna make someone have worse accuracy)

Anyways, i will agree the change kinda put the hurt on TK...

Draconian77
28-08-2009, 02:29
Just for the record, firing S3 bows on a 5+ or a 6+ to hit won't scratch WoC units anyway, except for maybe Hounds and Marauder horsemen who never seem to have the Mark of Nurgle, so really, it doesn't hurt the TK's much at all. :D

Wasn't this debated before with regards to Word of Pain?

T10
28-08-2009, 08:36
Just for the record, firing S3 bows on a 5+ or a 6+ to hit won't scratch WoC units anyway, except for maybe Hounds and Marauder horsemen who never seem to have the Mark of Nurgle, so really, it doesn't hurt the TK's much at all. :D


Have you ever rolled dice?

-T10

Enigmatik1
28-08-2009, 15:31
Just for the record, firing S3 bows on a 5+ or a 6+ to hit won't scratch WoC units anyway, except for maybe Hounds and Marauder horsemen who never seem to have the Mark of Nurgle, so really, it doesn't hurt the TK's much at all. :D


Well, if a non-Khalida TK list is relying on those spectacular skeleton archers to put a dent in Chaos cans to really worry about this, they're in trouble anyway.

That's why you bring two SSCs vs. WoC. Nothing says hi like 4 armor-ignoring batch of screaming, burning skulls.

EvC
28-08-2009, 15:46
List tailoring ftw?

Gazak Blacktoof
28-08-2009, 15:54
It's hardly tailoring when a potential 4 catapult shots is great against any army:). Along with multiple scorpions it's probably the best element of the army book, and always has been.

Enigmatik1
28-08-2009, 19:56
It's hardly tailoring when a potential 4 catapult shots is great against any army:). Along with multiple scorpions it's probably the best element of the army book, and always has been.

LOL! Touche! Although I only field one catapult and scorpion each in most of my 2K lists. 4 catapult shots seems a bit excessive to me in most cases. I'm not quite as adverse to two scorpions vs. Skaven, however. :skull:

Kayosiv
28-08-2009, 20:42
Ok I'm holding the book right in front of me and it says, and I quote,

"Any enemy unit targeting a model with the mark of nurgle is at -1 to hit for shooting attacks and -1 weapon skill when in base contact with the bearer."

Is mark of nurgle different in the Daemons of Chaos book and that's what we're talking about or something?

Because all this talk about "-1 BS" has me very confused.

PeG
28-08-2009, 20:50
Read the FAQ, mark of Nurgle gives -1BS

pointyteeth
28-08-2009, 21:00
Read the FAQ, mark of Nurgle gives -1BS

Errata. (sorry to nitpick, but errata is mandatory, FAQ is suggested) :angel:

Nurgling Chieftain
28-08-2009, 21:39
The errata is in the FAQ. :p

pointyteeth
28-08-2009, 21:44
The errata is in the FAQ. :p

ah, touché :D

IrishDelinquent
28-08-2009, 22:48
Man, that sucks for TK. Hope that their "Arrows of the Asp" gets improved to just say they always hit on a 5+.

sulla
29-08-2009, 01:08
Man, that sucks for TK. Hope that their "Arrows of the Asp" gets improved to just say they always hit on a 5+.

If you got the option for poisoned shots without having to take khalida, I doubt you'd mind that...;):D

Cider
29-08-2009, 01:47
an FAQ does not count when playing. only use errata's as the FAQ are usually written by people who dont even know the rule books correctly.

IrishDelinquent
29-08-2009, 03:11
ummm, the part where MoN gives a -1 penalty to BS is an errata.....