PDA

View Full Version : Miasma on Steam Tank



sholcomb
29-08-2009, 15:28
Do you think DoC Miasma of Pestilence would work on the Steam Tank since you are not targeting it?

The Steam Tank rules say, "Only spells with a given strength can damage Steam Tanks - all other spell effects are ignored." However, Miasma is neither targeting the Steam Tank, nor damaging it.

Sirroelivan
29-08-2009, 15:32
The steam tank rule you quoted says nothing about targeting.

sholcomb
29-08-2009, 18:26
True, but it does say something about damaging. Can a spell effect the steam tank that is not damaging it?

Kalandros
29-08-2009, 20:59
Miasma cannot work, as it doesn't have a given Strength Value to damage it, only a given strength value to alter its stats.

So no it shouldn't work.

Milgram
30-08-2009, 11:14
The Steam Tank rules say, "Only spells with a given strength can damage Steam Tanks - all other spell effects are ignored."


Can a spell effect the steam tank that is not damaging it?

you are answering your own question. there are of course spells without a strenght value that can indirectly affect the steam tank - e.g. bears anger or any other spells that gives your character/unit a bonus. but even though this is cast on the character itself, miasma would still directly effect the stank - and therefore does not work on the stank.

Tykinkuula
30-08-2009, 15:23
Seeing as everybody else seems to be answering to what you haven't asked...

The key words that deny you everything non-damagin would be "...all other spell effects will be ignored."

This essentially means that everything that doesn't do dmg doesn't work on Steam Tank. Damagin spells themselves have a further restriction of having to deal their damage via strength characteristic to work.