PDA

View Full Version : Gateway with 2 dice



PARTYCHICORITA
04-09-2009, 15:07
If i roll a double 6 with 2 dice to cast infernal gateway (15+) is the spell succesfully casted?

narrativium
04-09-2009, 15:11
Page 107, last paragraph.

EvC
04-09-2009, 16:08
i.e. you can haz gateway

Drachen_Jager
04-09-2009, 16:53
No. You must have the spell's casting value.

nosferatu1001
04-09-2009, 16:55
Drachen - did you read your rulebook before posting? Because quite clearly a spell cast with IF is cast regardless of the spells casting value as it states in the rules.

This is why the Book of Hoeth requires you to meet the casting value for it to be cast with IF on any double, as this is different to normal IF

Carpet
04-09-2009, 16:55
No. You must have the spell's casting value.

That's incorrect. Rules say any result of two or more unmodified 6s is cast successfully and with irresistible force. So double 6 casts anything.

Sarah S
04-09-2009, 17:09
No. You must have the spell's casting value.

Did you do that on purpose?

EvC
04-09-2009, 17:15
This is usually the point where someone (usually me ;) ) mentions Teclis, and then someone else decides to post the wrong information about it. Whose turn is it this week? :D

...oh wait nosferatu already mentioned Book of Hoeth. Well, there's still potential :D

nosferatu1001
04-09-2009, 17:49
I'm just waiting for the HE lovers to appear claiming they get IF regardless....

PARTYCHICORITA
04-09-2009, 18:37
I'm just waiting for the HE lovers to appear claiming they get IF regardless....

The wording on book or teclis is indeed different that the one for normal IF.
So, from reading the rule book i do see that after rolling double 6's on two dice Infernal Gateway is indeed succesfully cast with IF.