PDA

View Full Version : Time for Tomb Kings

Bauhaus86
08-09-2009, 05:59
Hello everyone,

First a little background. I have been playing for many years. I was away from the hobby for a while but returned about 18 months ago. I have always been a chaos fan so I picked up daemons when they were released. After playing them in a campaign and a few games, I have not touched them for well over six months. I of course enjoy winning, but they were too easy. I moved to Warriors upon their release, but they have also proven to be a bit dull and simple. I am not claiming to be a great tactician or anything, but it is time for a challenge! So Tomb Kings it is....

With that decided, I plan to do this as a bit of a secret project. I have painted undead before and can get them done pretty quickly. So I am looking to put together a 2000pt force and surprise my regular opponents with it. I enjoy magic heavy armies but would like to have a bit of shooting as well.

With that in mind, I humbly ask for some advice. As always, I will be collecting mmodels based on what I like the look of. Below you will find a list of what I do and don't like. If anyone could suggest a roster based around my preferences, that would be much appreciated! It doesn't have to be a super poerful force (I realise Tomb Kings are considered underpowered), but something reasonably competitive for allcomers. So, here we go....

Characters: I have no problems with any of these.
Core: I like skeletons, chariots and swarms. I am not fond of the cavalry, the models really need redoing.
Special: I love the Tomb Guard and Ushabti. The carrion are...ok, I would use them if they are good in game. The Tomb Scorpion I absolutely hate and is the one model I really want to avoid using if possible.
Rare: The Skull catapult is a must (preferably two). The giant is mediocre, but I think I could improve the model with some scalpel work.