PDA

View Full Version : Question on Iron guts!!!!



Krom The Eternal
19-09-2009, 05:05
Ok guys I'm sorry to sound like a newb. lol I'm just curious,
Ogre Iron guts have a Great weapon. Do they get a plus 2 to their Strength and killing blow on top of their stat line?, Or is the plus 2 strength already included in their stat line?

Roark
19-09-2009, 05:09
They get +2 strength on top of their statline, and Strikes Last (charge notwithstanding). Killing Blow doesn't come with Great Weapons.

Lord Dan
19-09-2009, 05:15
Bonuses from weapons are never included in profiles unless specifically mentioned.

Krom The Eternal
19-09-2009, 05:21
oh ok thanks guys!!!!

narrativium
19-09-2009, 09:48
Important to note: the Irongut's Strength isn't actually increased. The bonus only applies to attacks the Irongut makes in combat.

Keller
21-09-2009, 12:35
Important to note: the Irongut's Strength isn't actually increased. The bonus only applies to attacks the Irongut makes in combat.

Correct. They are still S4 Ogres, but their attacks with the greatweapons are at +2, S6. Their bull-charge impact hits are still resolved at a base of S4, modified as normal for any ranks.

t-tauri
21-09-2009, 12:54
Moved to fantasy rules.

Da Crusha
25-09-2009, 06:30
ok new iron guts question
If you bring ironguts as a dogs of war option for another army, can the unit bring a magical standard?

IrishDelinquent
25-09-2009, 06:41
I can't see why not. The unit is allowed to by their army list entry, and there is nothing in the Dogs of War Special rules in the Ogre Kingdoms book that prevents it. Take them in a Dwarf army, and give them the Rune Maw; the enemy will cast spells at the 'Guts, because of their lack of armor and small numbers, only to find their spell bounced onto a hardy unit of ironbreakers.

Oh, and OP, I just have to ask out of curiosity: Where did you get the idea that Great Weapons gave killing blow? Was it those sneaky Dark Elf Executioners?

zeekill
25-09-2009, 20:08
You can only take Magic standards from the ogre kingdoms magic items list however, not from the army you are putting them in

narrativium
25-09-2009, 23:29
Or the common list (so they can take the one War Banner of the army).