PDA

View Full Version : Chariot heavy high elves, doable?

Tenken
20-09-2009, 23:55
I just had a thought browsing through codex books about making a chariot heavy army. After looking through most of the army books with chariot units I decided that a high elf chariot heavy army with light of white lion chariots might be fun.

I'm still kinda new to the game and before I go nuts buying new stuff I'd like to know if it's even a good idea. The white lion chariots seem pretty tough and I'd take the max number of those, and the white lion hero character on another chariot then probably MSU of spearmen or seaguard to hold the enemy down with, and probably eagles for rares just for harassment. Is this plan even worthwhile?

zeekill
21-09-2009, 01:03
Yea. Double Charge a unit with 2 Lion Chariots and theyre dead already. (3 chariots if its chaos mortal infantry blocks)

Condottiere
21-09-2009, 01:24
You could, especially if you know the terrain beforehand.

Chariots are really supporting units, and you'll want an additional unit to either provide kills during close combat, like Dragon Princes or Sword Masters, static combat resolution, like Spears or Phoenix Guard.

Lion Chariots are expensive, but their six attacks strength 5 does guarantee that you don't have to rely too much on impact; Tiranoc Chariots are a slight gamble, but therefore cheaper.

Axis
21-09-2009, 01:57
I don't know how good it would be. Lion chariots are only T4 with a 4+ save. It doesn't take much to kill them. That said, they can demolish a lot of stuff. I suspect any chariot heavy army will do really well against some things but terrible against a lot of other stuff.

The problem is its terrible against anything with half decent missiles. It also will struggle against cav since they have the mobility to get out of charge arcs.. and also can potentially get the jump on chariots...

The SkaerKrow
21-09-2009, 17:33