PDA

View Full Version : Attacks/Attacking from the Flank and Rear



Gav2k
21-09-2009, 11:48
For the second time I feel the need to ask a question which is likely to be very simply put in the rulebook, and yet I just cant interpret it correctly...

So I have three scenarios:

Goblins vs Lizardmen:
G=Gobbos; S=Saurus; Z = Flank Saurus; X = Rear Saurus; * = Empty Space

Figure1:

SSSSS
GGGGGZ
GGGGGZ
GGGGGZ
GGGGGZ
*****Z

The Goblins are facing Upward on the page. Z is the flanking unit.
In combat, who can the Goblins attack? Only S? S and Z? Do they choose between the two (S OR Z)? If they can attack the flanking unit, do only the Goblins in base contact with the flankers get to attack them (no heroes/champs/standardbearers/etc)?


Figure 2:

SSSSS
GGGGG
GGGGG
GGGGG
GGGGG
XXXXX

Same questions, really. Who can the goblins attack? Do they only get to attack S? Do they get to attack both? If only one, do they get to choose which they attack?

Figure 3:

SSSSS
GGGGGZ
GGGGGZ
GGGGGZ
GGGGGZ
XXXXXZ

Who do the goblins get to hit?

Also, when Fleeing, do the goblins flee THROUGH X? Or are they locked in where they are?
Which of the units get to pursue (all, or just S)?

Thanks for your time :)

Gazak Blacktoof
21-09-2009, 12:18
If you are in base contact with a model when it is your turn to attack then you may attack that model. In Figs. 1 and 3 the goblins on the corners will get a choice. See the BRB p.32 under "Which Models Can Fight".

The goblins flee directly away from the unit with the highest unit strength and will flee through units that are in the same combat with no ill effect. See p.40 of the BRB- section entitled "Move Surviving Fleeing Troops". To determine how the units pursue check out the diagram at the bottom of p. 43 in the BRB.


Hope that helps.

Gav2k
21-09-2009, 12:23
Excellent. Thanks for your help!

Just to make sure, in Figure two, the Goblins can strike behind them at the Rear-Attack Saurus?

Gazak Blacktoof
21-09-2009, 12:31
Yes they definitely can, check out the Diagram 36.2 on p.36 of the BRB for confirmation and added detail about incomplete ranks.

Chariots are slightly different to normal units in that not all of their attacks can be directed to every facing see "Chariots in Combat" on p.64.

PeG
21-09-2009, 12:36
and fighting to the back or flank does have an effect on some weapons such as spears and shields that are important to think about.