PDA

View Full Version : Is a wizard within 12" of himself?



Nell2ThaIzzay
16-01-2006, 03:27
This may be a stupid question, but this has come up a couple times, and I'm not 100% sure on how the rules work.

If I have an item (say for example, Staff of Damnation, since I play Vampire Counts) that effects all units within a certain range of the caster, or a spell, is the wizard, or the unit he's in, effected also?

Since I mentioned the Staff of Damnation earlier, if I use it, and the Wizard using it is in a unit in close combat, does that unit get the effects of it? I heard someone say no, because how can a wizard be within 12" of himself?

And could a Wizard cast a spell on himself? Say or example, a Vanhel's Danse Macabre? I ask because some spells specifically say that the Wizard may target himself, but I don't know if that just means the spell can only target the Wizard or not (I.E. Hand of Dust, which the caster can only cast on himself)

Ganymede
16-01-2006, 04:57
Yes. Generally if the wizard casts a spell that generates a beneficial effect on everyone around a certain radius, it affects him too.

Festus
16-01-2006, 06:32
Hi

Yes, usually a model is within a given radius from itself, as the radius describes a space centered on the model.

Greetings
Festus

NakedFisherman
16-01-2006, 06:36
If a tree falls in the woods... :D

Griefbringer
16-01-2006, 10:26
I heard someone say no, because how can a wizard be within 12" of himself?


How could a wizard not be within 12" of himself?

The distance of the wizard from himself is approximately 0", which is smaller than 12".

zKoTTe
16-01-2006, 12:40
It depends on where you measure from, if you measure from the base isn't he under his own radius (only in the theory (spellign? :) ) but if you measure from the middel in the base then is he under the radius

Yak
16-01-2006, 13:19
Well one edge of the base is less 12" from the other edge...

zKoTTe
16-01-2006, 19:32
Well one edge of the base is less 12" from the other edge...


Not if the Radius is around the wizard:)

ZomboCom
16-01-2006, 21:48
Yes, the wizard is affected by area spells centered on him, unless it says otherwise.

MadJackMcJack
16-01-2006, 22:11
Of course he's within 12" of himself! And if someone is arguing against it, stab them in the eye.

EvC
16-01-2006, 23:09
And then get them to do some differentiation!

Griefbringer
17-01-2006, 10:58
I would recommend surface integrals!

TAU AIR CASTE
17-01-2006, 11:15
Of course he's within 12" of himself! And if someone is arguing against it, stab them in the eye.

lol :D can see why your called madjack