PDA

View Full Version : How hard is it to paint marines with their arms on?

zeekill
06-10-2009, 01:18
So I really really want to finish building my Space Wolf Grey Hunters but I am worried that if I put the arms on it will be too difficult to paint the chest under the arm. I am an amateur painter (like I dont know anything about painting) so I would appreciate your opinions. And btw Im not going to pin or magnetize them, so dont suggest that now.
Thanks

Ghost of Trigger
06-10-2009, 01:21
It isnt that hard really, just get a detail brush.

tstreet21
06-10-2009, 01:23
it takes considerably longer, but I have found it easier to glue the legs to the base, paint them, glue the body to the legs, paint that, glue the head to the body, paint that, then add the arms and paint them. it keeps me from having to manuver around different bits to get the detail on the spot I want.

HunterSkunter
06-10-2009, 01:26
it takes considerably longer, but I have found it easier to glue the legs to the base, paint them, glue the body to the legs, paint that, glue the head to the body, paint that, then add the arms and paint them. it keeps me from having to manuver around different bits to get the detail on the spot I want.

That is definitely a prime situation, but I don't find it TOO hard to paint the chest with the arms on. Just try to keep it simple, I'm an amateur too (even though I've been painting for a few years, I am just not that good), so I try to get the most out of about 3 colors with some different shades and maybe a wash. Usually works pretty well.

fwacho
06-10-2009, 01:38
arms are easy. it's the gun that gets in the way. (and easily painted on sprue.)

LonelyPath
06-10-2009, 01:54
have no problems painting marines when they're fully assembled, I just takes a little more precision with the brush.

scarletsquig
06-10-2009, 02:32
Yep, leave the gun off and it's fine. no need to leave the arms and head off as well.

Legionary
06-10-2009, 02:45