PDA

View Full Version : Do you play on a cluttered table?

defcat
10-10-2009, 18:50
I recently visited my "local" store to talk with and watch the 40K guys on the regularly scheduled 40K night. One thing that I noticed was that every table seemed cluttered to me. I'm still really new to table top gaming and I have read topics on % of terrain on tables so I understand how certain terrain % can affect certain army builds for better or worse. My problem is that they probably had 50% of the table filled with "stuff". Also, none of it was similar and to me it took away from the visual aspect of the game. Basically we had city fight terrain with lots of trees and hills and pretty much everything anyone could find. I'm pretty sure that I saw a coke bottle laid out on one of the tables. I can deal with unpainted armies as I have 3 kids at home and a pregnant wife who keep me from getting much painting done. I just prefer to have a "clean" table to play on. By clean I mean a coherent board that just looks well put together. I started thinking about this after reading the Space Wolf terrain article on their website. To me that board just looks great. I can deal with the comments that I'm trying to play to my army's strengths(BA and Nids) if thats what people want to say. Does anyone else have trouble with this or maybe the exact opposite?

Corrode
10-10-2009, 18:55
I think the problem you're having isn't so much clutter as it is mismatched terrain. Very clustered terrain can work if it's coherent and looks good together (find a table with a ton of the GW plastic city terrain at some point, it looks great), and sparse terrain looks good if coherently laid out too. The problem comes with the things you highlighted - throwing down any old crap and calling it a board.

Garanaul the Black
10-10-2009, 18:59