PDA

View Full Version : Clarifying



Paraelix
17-10-2009, 11:02
Magic Weapon + Shield on foot only gives +1 Armour Save?

EDIT- And similarly. HW + Magic Shield on foot is only +1?

narrativium
17-10-2009, 11:24
If the magic weapon is not a hand weapon, you don't get the hand weapon plus shield bonus. If it is, you do. And a magic shield counts as a shield.

Paraelix
17-10-2009, 11:35
So Sword of Might/Biting Blade/etc with a shield on foot = +2sv?

Sirroelivan
17-10-2009, 12:13
So Sword of Might/Biting Blade/etc with a shield on foot = +2sv?

A magic item is only a hand weapon when the rules for the item specifically state "hand weapon", so in this case it would only be a +1 save.

EldarBishop
17-10-2009, 12:31
There are very few that actually state "Hand Weapon." under the magic weapon description. Sword of the Quest is one example that I can think of... pretty sure that DEs have one or two as well (but they don't tend to use Shields too often :p)

jaxom
17-10-2009, 17:42
Often a HW and Magic Shield is going to be +2/+1. Most Magic Shields are also Shields (I can't think of any which are not). So you are wielding HW/Shield and can take the bonus from the front.

For example, HW + Enchanted Shield is still HW+Shield because the Enchanted Shield has the Shield rule. It's the same thing that allows a magical weapon to get the bonus if it has the Hand Weapon rule.

Chrisb3
17-10-2009, 18:59
On a similar theme, is there a cap on how low your armour save can go?

Chaos Armour + Juggernaut + Sheild gives a 0+ save, but I've been told that you cannot go below 1+ saves.
However, why then does the model come with a shield? There is only one item choice it could possibly be (Chaos Runeshield).

Guanyin
17-10-2009, 19:06
There is no rule hindering lower than 1+ save, so it's possible to get 0+ (or even lower). While you still fail on 1s, this is great for high S attacks, with a 0+ save you would still save on 2s against S5.

nosferatu1001
17-10-2009, 20:29
ChrisB - that rule is in 40k, not in fantasy. I think its even mentioned in the BRB faq part 1 or 2 that you can get -1 or better saves, however these are rare....

Tykinkuula
18-10-2009, 06:04
Atm -2 is the best anyone can get. There's no rule to keep you from getting even better if a new item combo arises, however.

outbreak
18-10-2009, 07:00
huh? there is combos that go -1 but it caps at -2 i thought, the -1 did still count for when you subrtact armour for higher then st3 i thought?

WLBjork
18-10-2009, 07:54
Not that much benefit in having better than -1+, as there are few enough opponents (mainly characters and monsters) with S7+.

There is no cap on how low your save can go, period. Just that no matter your save value, the minimum score needed on the dice after modifiers is still 2+.

Chrisb3
18-10-2009, 11:17
Thanks alot guys :)
I guess I'll be buying a shield for my Exalted Hero on Jugger again!