PDA

View Full Version : Running, Hiding, Overwatch

MaraudingMercenary
21-01-2006, 01:40
As an 2nd Veteran, I'd like to have my three favorite rules from that time back, without changing the 4th too much. My biggest concern of course is that the rules would be unfair and bias the point values, making my buddies not wanna play it.

The rules would be simple like this:

Running: Instead of shooting and/or charging, every Infantry Unit may decide to run an extra 3" in the Movement Phase and will eventually get a marker as a reminder.

Hiding: Every infatry Unit that does not shoot, charge and didn't run can hide at the end of the turn, if it is in suitable cover (meaning that at least 50% of the enemys LOS on the model is blocked). Hidden units can't be shot at, unless using a guess weapon. Hidden units will be detected as soon as they fire a weapon,move, or an enemy model comes in the distance of its Initiative*3.

Overwatch: Any Unit that does not fire a weapon, though it is allowed to, can decide to go into overwatch. It can fire during the enemys moving phase. If it is then firing at a unit which just emerged from cover, that unit will get a +1 bonus on its armour/cover roll.

Of course there are a lot of details to work out. Thats why I'm posting it: did anyone try similar rules yet? My first concern are Tau models with jumppacks. They should get protection against the overwatch, as they pay extra for their ability to move fire move (grrrrnnsnarl!!) And armies with tons of guess weapons will have an advantage fighting hidden units.

So if anyone tried things like this please post how it went.

IncubiLord
21-01-2006, 02:39
I tried to write up a decent version of Overwatch for 4ed, but it got little interest. Feel free to take what you like from my thread (http://www.warseer.com/forums/showthread.php?t=21477), it's dead anyways.

Also, you forgot that your running rules hurt fleet models...

EDIT: Oops, you're IN that thread. Sorry.

sulla
21-01-2006, 06:19