PDA

View Full Version : New Skaven Warlord Mounts!



Devil-Dice
11-11-2009, 11:30
Hi all!

Just got my new Skaven book and have read through all the new options and love the idea of the warlord mounts, more specifically the war litter!

Now im truly looking forward to converting this fella but i dont know what base size to use, the rat ogre bonebreaker obviously comes with 40mm by 40mm. It also specifically states the pox rat comes on 40mm by 40mm, but says nothing about the war litter.

Now going with the stats and the base size mentioned with the other options i was going to use a 40mm by 40mm base with four stormvermin holding a palanquin with my warlord on top. But would you guys feel that this is acceptable in game terms as it will make my warlord take up 4 bases in a tray giving me an advantage to ranks, and will also mess about with unit strength. Will he remain unit strength one or become unit strength 5?

Sirroelivan
11-11-2009, 11:38
If the warlitter has one wound, it just counts as a cavalry mount, thus adds only 1 to unit strenght. Otherwise, it's a monstrous mount and adds it's wounds.

Devil-Dice
11-11-2009, 11:44
The war-litter dosent actually have any wounds :( it has a move, weapon skill, strength, initiative, and attack characteristic. this is such a wierd one to figure!

Arguleon-veq
11-11-2009, 13:29
40mm by 40mm should be right, it will only be US2 though as the mount has no wounds of its own. So you are still open to be hit by Killing Blow.

Lord Norton
11-11-2009, 13:39
Does the dwarf shieldbearers make the dwarf lord US3?

Tambarskjelve
11-11-2009, 15:04
Does the dwarf shieldbearers make the dwarf lord US3?

Yes, it does, making him immune to killing blow.

Edit
11-11-2009, 18:42
but it states that in its rules, where the litter says you can still use "look out sir" which makes me believe its US2 like a cav model

just a guess really though

BenTheRat
11-11-2009, 19:34
As long as you are below US 5, you can use LOS.

The 4 models holding it, should make him US 5 (the liter 4 + 1), but that seems weird as it adds +1 to AS like a mount does. The liter has no wounds so you can't target them.

I would think a 40mm base would be appropriate size. And I think is the best of the 3 options.

The Rat

Arguleon-veq
11-11-2009, 19:40
The 4 models do not make it US5 as it is not 4 models. It is 1 model, a normal cav mount, that will make him US2.

The Anarchist
11-11-2009, 23:36
stupid question maybe but has there been in the skaven book any model shown in the art section? if there is whatever base size it has in there might be a good indicator for base size intended.

Vermin-thing
12-11-2009, 00:46
stupid question maybe but has there been in the skaven book any model shown in the art section? if there is whatever base size it has in there might be a good indicator for base size intended.

Nope. Just simply put 4 Stormvermin on a 40X40 base with the warlord perched on top.

It's a calv mount, but it's not on a calv base, so it still adds the +1 armor save, and he still gets look out sir. Also he's US2.

Tunnel Rat
12-11-2009, 00:56
It's a calv mount...Is it? I don't have the book in front of me but I could have sworn it follows the monstrous mount rules.

Vermin-thing
12-11-2009, 01:26
Is it? I don't have the book in front of me but I could have sworn it follows the monstrous mount rules.

Are you sure? If it was a monster mount why would he get a +1 armor, and look out sir? Also the warlord, and the litter, plus bearers are one model.

Devil-Dice
12-11-2009, 09:51
"I don't have the book in front of me but I could have sworn it follows the monstrous mount rules."

No the litter doesnt use the monstrous mount rules, only the bonebreaker. so far it would seem like going 40mm - 40 mm and us2. Making him basically ride a larger than normal mount! Thanks for all the replies guys think ive got a better idea of how i wanna make it now.

Devil-Dice

Bueno
09-02-2010, 12:35
I wanna use the old Metal skaven slave standard bearer model to carry mine, does anyone know where i buy it?

Leogun_91
09-02-2010, 12:39
I would think it's US3, the BRB says that ogresized units, including swarms and spawns are US3. This is ogresized and not ordinary cavalry (no wounds, nothing that says it's a cavalry mount).

mdiscala
09-02-2010, 13:26
all the mounts in WoC are US2, so if a juggernaut is, I'm not surprised that a palanquin held by storm vermin would be too.

cob
09-02-2010, 16:30
If it's anything to go by, the UKGT final faq stated that bonebreaker mount AND warlitter made the warlord US 5

v3n0m-RzR
09-02-2010, 16:39
Put me firmly in the US2 camp, the warlitter doesn't have any wounds of it's own. Bit of a difference here when compared to the bonebreaker

Shamutanti
09-02-2010, 18:32
If it's anything to go by, the UKGT final faq stated that bonebreaker mount AND warlitter made the warlord US 5

I get the bonebreaker being Us5 but the Warlitter? >_>

It's a Skaven copy of the Shieldbearer upgrade essentially (at least in terms of fluff it seems).

w3rm
10-02-2010, 00:15
I demand FAQ! Cmon GW its been 3 months!!!