PDA

View Full Version : 7+ to hit, only to hit?



TMATK
12-11-2009, 12:48
Regarding the p28 rule for 7+ to hit; is that a global rule for any roll requiring a 7+ or is it really only for "to hit" rolls?

I'm wondering about armor saves specifically, maybe there are other rolls that I can't think of. If a Ngobo with a shield gets wounded by a dwarf handgun, does he have an 8+ armor save or no save at all?

Thanks for any help, I know this is a basic question. :)

PaddyF
12-11-2009, 12:53
It will have no save.

The 7+ to hit rule is just that for rolling to hit.

Mattino
12-11-2009, 13:03
7+ (or worse) only ever applies to shooting attacks "to hit" roll. Hitting in close combat, wounding, armor saves, or even ward saves is 6+ (or better) or impossible at all.

PaddyF
12-11-2009, 13:04
Ah but that doesn't really need to be explained since CC attacks have a table reference that doesn't show more than 6+ ever.

xragg
12-11-2009, 13:33
Ah but that doesn't really need to be explained since CC attacks have a table reference that doesn't show more than 6+ ever.

But it is possible through magic items to force an opponent to need 7+ (wood elves have combos for it). Even so, pretty sure a 6 still hits regardless of how many negatives you impose on your opponent in CC.

PaddyF
12-11-2009, 13:34
Wood Elves in game breaking shocker ;)

narrativium
12-11-2009, 13:40
There's a combination of items to reduce the attacker's to-hit roll by 1, and to make the attacker hit on a 6. The absolute overrules the modifier.

Unless you're a Dark Elf Assassin.

Tae
12-11-2009, 16:06
There's a combination of items to reduce the attacker's to-hit roll by 1, and to make the attacker hit on a 6. The absolute overrules the modifier.

Unless you're a Dark Elf Assassin.

Plus, iirc, the BRB says 1 always misses and 6 always hits for CC.

tarrasque
12-11-2009, 21:01
and it is not a globel rules it is a rule for hitting whit shooting only