PDA

View Full Version : Dragon Mage question

kingcr02
15-11-2009, 19:23
Hello, I am new to the game and only actually have a few pieces to a High Elf army as I am trying to figure out what build I would like to start with and so on.
I asked my friend when starting out whats a good number army to build. He told me that 1500 would be decent and most players would be willing to play an army of that size with me.

The first part of my post is what he has told me so far pertaining to High Elves. As far as the core goes he says that the LSG isn't very good and is near unplayable because of my other core. As far as Specials go he says that Silver Helms are flat out unplayable because of Dragon Princes. I have also been told be numerous players that the only real competitive dragon is the star dragon. How much of this would you say is accurate?

On to the question. In my 1500 point army I am really interested in running a dragon. I was thinking about putting a Dragon Mage of Caledor in my 1500 point list. 350 for the model + 35 for level 2 upgrade + 25 Armour of Caledor + 25 Guardian Phoenix. The magic items obviously to make him a hard man to bring down. So I suppose the main question is it he worth it? or is the Sun Dragon just really not worth running? Also I don't have the main rule book at this point so I don't understand the dragons scaly skin save of 5+. Is that his only armor? so if he gets 2 wounds and i roll 2 4s he takes both wounds? or is the scaly skin a bonus on top of something else? If his only armor save is 5+ I could see the dragon being largely unimpressive.

kingcr02
15-11-2009, 19:33
Update: Just been told that the dragons only armour is a 5+ and that i can't give the mage magic armours. This piece can be made nothing but offense and seems to die quite easily. I suppose I shouldn't run him.

Falkman
15-11-2009, 19:36
The general opinion is that a Dragon mage is too fragile to be used in competitive games.