PDA

View Full Version : 1500p All-round horde competitive Skaven

yorch
18-11-2009, 00:37
Hi all!

I finally got my own copy of the new skaven book and soon I'll start testing the list with some friends. However, I'll start the test against two powerful foes, competitive DE and DoC lists. Maybe it's too soon, but I will try to make a tourney skaven list (for non-tourney lists I don't need advice, as I field what I want at the moment, usually themed lists). Fortunately, I think the new skaven list is really powerful at the 1500 point tag, better than the last one (I've been playing with skaven for 13 years now :)).

I'll show the list now, with my comments below:

Plague priest............................................ .......[189]
-2xDispel Scroll
-Magic Level 2
-Flail

19 Plague Monks............................................. .[198]
-Standard bearer, musician
-Storm banner

25 Clanrats.......................................... ...........[207]
-Shield, spears
-Weapon Team: Warpfire thrower

25 Clanrats.......................................... ...........[192]
-Shield, spears
-Weapon Team: Ratling gun

21 Skavenslaves...................................... ........[44]
-Musician

-Musician

-Musician

10 Night runners........................................... ...[70]

7 Plague censer bearers....................................[112]

7 Plague censer bearers....................................[112]

Doomwheel......................................... ............[150]

5 Giant rats + Packmaster.................................[23]

TOTAL: 1500 points, 191 minis

As a skaven player, I want to play a horde army, and thanks to the new plague priest capabilities, I can field a lone character that will be my general and scroll caddy at the same time. This allows me to field a lot of minis while still getting some nasty machines, as the warpfire-thrower, ratling gun and the almighty doomwheel (awesome mini... I will field it in every game).

Plague censer bearers: