PDA

View Full Version : Hydra charges.



Xzazzarai
22-11-2009, 00:27
The Dark Elf Hydra moves lika s skirmisher, ignores Terrain and such.
What about charges? Does it have 360 degre sight like a skirmisher, or do you measure the charge from the hydra itself?
Are the handlers included in this measurement for LOS purposes?
Allso, does it suffer from difficult Terrain when it charges?

Gormereth, the Fearmonger
22-11-2009, 00:43
The FAQs answer some of this; it ignores terrain for normal movement but still suffers it on the charge (or at least that's how it was as of the last time I checked). It's kind of odd because only models of unit strength 1 are supposed to move like skirmishers; so why anyone decided that this big, unit strength 5 monster can just because he's got some handlers around to...I don't know, shout encouragements at it.

As for the LOS issue I'm not entirely sure, but it seems reasonable that since the handlers will have 360 view, it amounts to one model in the unit always having line of sight, so effectively it has a 360 charge arc.

Any other issue should be handled by treating the hydra as being both a monster and a model in a unit of skirmishers.

theunwantedbeing
22-11-2009, 01:09
This is all covered in the monster and handler rules
Page 67

Basically, its a monster that ignores terrain except when charging.
It's been this way since the start of 7th edition, long before the DE list got new rules.

Xzazzarai
22-11-2009, 12:20
I missed that one! Thanks alot!