PDA

View Full Version : Allocating attacks with spears or pikes



Bloodknight
27-01-2006, 11:59
Hi;
following rules question appeared in our last game: can spearmen (or pikemen) in the 2nd (3rd,4th) rank allocate attacks on models in front of them?
Letīs say, 8 attacks (pikemen) on a mage in the enemy unit?

Or is allocating attacks restricted to base contact (just like 2nd rank tomb king spearmen donīt count as in btb for the incantation of smiting) as the rulebook says (without referring to "attack in x ranks" troops)

Avian
27-01-2006, 12:08
Models in rear ranks can attack any enemy that the model directly in front of them can attack.

gukal
27-01-2006, 12:33
Models in rear ranks can attack any enemy that the model directly in front of them can attack.

Relying on memory, there is at least one twist to this statement. When Bretonnians use the lance formation, only the front rank may allocate their strikes. So, they can't pile 9 Grail Knight attacks on a hapless Dwarf Lord.

Obviously, this does not affect spears or pikes, but amounts to a strange rule anomoly in my view.

- Gukal

SuperBeast
28-01-2006, 12:10
Sort of.
But then again, the lance formation allows knights to use lances in ranks, which is another anomaly... :eek:

Avian
28-01-2006, 12:45
Obviously, this does not affect spears or pikes, but amounts to a strange rule anomoly in my view.
Possibly an attempt to tone the lance formation down a bit?

Of course, it might happen in 7th edition that models not in base contact may not allocate their attacks at all. We'll have to wait and see.

Nitron
28-01-2006, 17:35
Think tey can.