PDA

View Full Version : Wood Elves 500-2000 pts Escalation Army

quasihayley
08-12-2009, 15:47
Hi folks,

Myself and 6 friends are entering an escalation tournament in January where we start with 500 points and add 250 every month. I'm brand new to wargaming and most of my mates haven't played since they were kids.

The first event uses the border patrol rules (1 hero, max 125pts/model, 1+ core units, 2-4 total units, max 1 special or rare unit, no standards, 1 unit with at least 10 models, max 25 models/unit).

I think my army will consist of:

10 x Glade Guards + Musician = 126 points
5 x Glade Riders + Musician = 129 points
10 x Dryads = 120 points

Which leaves 125 points for my General - I've got two possibilities:

Mounted Noble, Great Weapon, Hail of Doom Arrow = 116 points

or

Branchwraith w/ Cluster of Radients & Annoyance of Nettlings = 115 points

The Mounted Noble would go in with the Glade Riders - everyone raves about the HoDA but some people say it's cheesy for this points level, I'm not up on gaming ettiquette though. I also only have a very vague idea of how it's useful - there's a lot of talk about wiping out units but I guess you have to do some preliminary work first for that to happen.

The Branchwraith would go in with the Dryads and provide some magic defense - the real question here is whether I need magic defense at 500 points? I'll be up against VC and O&G at least once I expect but I have no idea what their lists are like.

Any help is much appreciated! If you want to suggest I try an entirely different army, feel free, I'm quite happy to throw my money at Games Workshop ;)

warhawk95
08-12-2009, 16:12