PDA

View Full Version : Demoralize and panic checks after combat



aracon
28-01-2006, 20:07
Ok, so this afternoon we had the following scenario:

1 2
A B

Units 1 and 2 are from one army, A and B from another one. We solve the combats and unit 1 wins, so does B. On demoralize checks, units 2 and A must flee. Now, the question:

The rules state that units 1 and B must do a panic check as there's a friendly unit less than 15 cm away demoralized. If they fail the checks, they also flee? So the combat ends with all 4 units fleeing? Or as they've won they ignore the check?

Flame
28-01-2006, 20:22
No unit would ignore panic tests unless it was immune to panic (or psychology generally).

This could end with all four units fleeing!

Eldaron
28-01-2006, 20:27
Yes, in a situation you just described (given that the units are within 6" of another) unit 1 and B have to take a panic test (since those are taken after all break tests) and if they fail, they will flee as well

aracon
28-01-2006, 20:31
Ok, it seemed a little "unreal" to us, but it's what we thought. Thanks a lot mates!

Borthcollective
29-01-2006, 14:33
Ok, so this afternoon we had the following scenario:

1 2
A B

Units 1 and 2 are from one army, A and B from another one. We solve the combats and unit 1 wins, so does B. On demoralize checks, units 2 and A must flee. Now, the question:

The rules state that units 1 and B must do a panic check as there's a friendly unit less than 15 cm away demoralized. If they fail the checks, they also flee? So the combat ends with all 4 units fleeing? Or as they've won they ignore the check?

It is important to note that all fleeing and pursuit is worked out after the break and panic tests are taken for the turn. pg 74