PDA

View Full Version : Modeling new Dwarf Army plastic kit options

pestario
29-01-2006, 03:07
Im a total dwarf newb and the Army box I bought didnt have the Army book. I was looking for some tips on how to model my Dwarves.

I assume the difference between longbeards and standard warriors are the facemasks you can add to the helmet, is this correct? There don't seem to be enough of the braided beards if you wanted to use a whole box for longbeards.

How would you model the 32 dwarves up? 16 warriors & 16 Longbeards both with shield and handweapon. Would you model any with great weapons?

For the thunderers/scouts/crossbowmen how wold you set these 16 up.

I do plan on adding more after I paint up the Army box but was looking for tips on how best to use the models from the Army box for a good playable force.

Ifurita
29-01-2006, 03:37
I think I'd buy the book, point up a 1,000 point force and kit out your figures appropriately

leeoaks
29-01-2006, 09:20
there in't much scope for modeling with this kit....i add pouches to the scouts and give the longbeards command a bigger banner, i haven't used those masks except on the command!

as for weps i have given one unit of warriors great weps and the longbeards in my army scout so they have throwing axes and great weps. i didn't want any thunders or crobows so i converted these into the unit of warriors!

i would agree with the above write the list first then model the army!

Bjoernes
29-01-2006, 09:34
Hi!

With your current minis, I think I would have set the force up as follows:

20xWarriors with S and HW and full command.
12xLongbeards with S and HW for high save, or GW for more punch and full command.
16x thundrers or quarrellers with full comand, and S. The command group and S will come in handy if engaging or getting engaged in CC.

Greetings

Jim Reaper
29-01-2006, 10:54
With my army box (I also bought a battalion box so I've got a few more models to play with):