PDA

View Full Version : Wanting to start in the tournament scene need advice please.

strigoi
13-12-2009, 13:04
hi all,

well i just started playing skaven and haven't played a proper fantasy game in ages, but i wanted to enter tournaments but have no real good army construction or how tournys work for a usal friendly playing style player.

what i would like to know is how i should construct a competative list what i should look for and good tactics or even army lists you guys can provide as i need advice.

Thank you in advance as ive not been to any tournament.

narrativium
13-12-2009, 15:15
That's a tall order. I can't help you much with the Skaven aspect of it, as I haven't played against the new army book yet, but otherwise...

First: which tournament are you hoping to enter? Tournaments vary from event to event - the army points allowance is important, and so are any scenarios to be used at the tournament. Tournaments can also be divided into 'comped' and 'uncomped' categories - 'comped' events place more restrictions on your army composition than the army book itself does, generally to prevent people from choosing some of the most competitive or extreme army lists, whereas 'uncomped' events allow you to pick a legal army straight from the book.

If we know, for example, that you're looking at a 1500 point tourney, we can avoid recommending lord level choices. If we know you have particular models, or like particular models, and want to include them, that will help too - saves us recommending things you need to spend lots of money on. That sort of thing.