PDA

View Full Version : Extra D6'' charge Virtue Stacking?



Bladelord
20-12-2009, 16:19
Got a question about a Bretonnian virtue (donīt remember the name, think itīs Virtue of the Impetious Knight or something) that gives an extra D6'' to the first charge done by the character & the unit heīs accompanying. Do these stack so if you have 2 in the same unit will you have a total charge range of 16+2D6''?

Couldnīt find anywhere in the Bretonnian rulebook that you couldnīt stack them.

nosferatu1001
20-12-2009, 17:25
I thought virtues were unique, in that you couldnt have more than 1 of each per army?

General Squeek Squeek
20-12-2009, 17:26
you can have multiple virtues, but the cost of them doubles each time you take a vow that another knight already has.

Bladelord
20-12-2009, 17:29
So, do they stack or not?

nosferatu1001
20-12-2009, 17:41
Dont see why not - hat is the exact wording? If it is "a" character with the virtue gives the unit +D6 it won't stack, as this is fulfilled if there are 1 or 20 characters witht he virtue.

theunwantedbeing
20-12-2009, 17:43
They stack, but it's a very costly one use only effect.

So you'll get a charge range of between 18" and 28" (average of 23")
It's not possible to stack 3 of them.

Bladelord
20-12-2009, 17:56
They stack, but it's a very costly one use only effect.

So you'll get a charge range of between 18" and 28" (average of 23")
It's not possible to stack 3 of them.

Itīs a very costl one use only effect that can be game winning, but why wouldnīt 3 stack? if youīre thinking on the pts cost you can have a normal paladin have the 1st, then the general & last the BSB (140pts:wtf:).

soots
20-12-2009, 19:11
lol.. first turn combat.

Interesting way to get nullify a machine/caster.

Actually not a bad way to nullify opponents magic by hitting his death star with level 4 magic user

stripsteak
20-12-2009, 19:20
paladins can only afford the first one
lords can only afford the second
no model can afford the third. it's more expensive then the lords allowance. heck the lord buying the second one of it takes most of his point limit anyway.

Bladelord
21-12-2009, 08:23
Aye forgot that even if the BSB may take a virtue in addition to a magical banner he can still just pay 50pts on virtues:P

Aliarzathanil
22-12-2009, 04:56
It says that the knight and the unit he's with add +D6 to their first charge. If more than one knight in the unit had this, they would still be adding +D6 to their first charge. It doesn't have to stack to operate the way it's stated.

Also, seems a bit much to stack it anyway. The knight becomes impetuous, not superhuman.

Ultimate Life Form
22-12-2009, 05:11
The knight becomes impetuous, not superhuman.

I would guess it's actually the horse that has this virtue. :rolleyes:

1st Knight: adds D6.
2nd Knight: adds D6.

2xD = 2D QED

RichBlake
22-12-2009, 09:23
I would guess it's actually the horse that has this virtue. :rolleyes:

1st Knight: adds D6.
2nd Knight: adds D6.

2xD = 2D QED

I suppose the other way of viewing it is that they both make the charge 16"+D6, though I'd have to say the view that the first knight would "add +D6" to the charge, making the charge say 16"+1D6, then the second knight would add +D6 to the first charge making it 16"+D6+D6 is the view that I'd lean towards.