PDA

View Full Version : Empire War Alter query



jay court
02-01-2010, 21:07
Just a quick one: Is the Empire War Altar a chariot in every sense of the rules?
I.e is it destroyed when it's hit by anything S 7 or higher?

Thanks in advance.:cool:

Jiggy
02-01-2010, 21:16
Yes it is destroyed if it hit and wounded by a S7 or higher attack and does not pass it's ward save.It also inflicts D6 impact hits on the charge, gets damaged when entering difficult terrain and so on.

jay court
02-01-2010, 21:21
Cheers! This is good news for my mate's Vampire Lord armed with a lance.

Nurgling Chieftain
02-01-2010, 21:48
...Somebody's not familiar with the Speculum, I'm guessing. :D

jay court
02-01-2010, 21:56
Think that only works in a challenge, so if the vampire refuses the challenge I take it his z.dragon can still hit?

Lord Zarkov
02-01-2010, 22:02
If he's on a Zombie Dragon though he can't refuse a challenge as there is nowhere to hide.

jay court
02-01-2010, 22:07
OK. So nothing happens then?

Nurgling Chieftain
02-01-2010, 22:17
The zombie-dragon lord isn't so bad.

Here's what'll typically happen:

You'll charge in, he'll issue a challenge, you'll have no choice but to accept. At this point the speculum goes off and you're not strong enough to insta-kill the Altar anymore. Still, you've got a dragon, so reasonable chance you might beat him anyway, depending on exact loadouts, spells up, die rolls, and so on, of course.

jay court
02-01-2010, 22:30
Great, thanks guys. Will be useful in me & my mates tournament game should we get drawn against the Empire/W.Elves team

Shield of Freedom
03-01-2010, 04:57
Of course, unless the Arch Lector is killed, or the Altar is destroyed, simply beating him won't be enough as the unit is unbreakable.

Kalandros
03-01-2010, 05:23
Blood Knights are a good solution though getting them to charge the thing is very difficult due to big guns and the anti-undead spells they all have against VC.

Other than that, 2 S7 characters in the same unit, you refuse the challenge, he opts to remove one of your S7 characters from the front rank, the other one gets its chance at destroying the altar.