PDA

View Full Version : who to use as Captain Al'rahem



Spinxy
05-01-2010, 11:34
right some im looking at getting Captain Al'rahem

but i cant find the model, so i was just wondering what others use to represent him on the field

Mort
05-01-2010, 11:39
i would recommend this one:

http://www.games-workshop.com/gws/catalog/productDetail.jsp?catId=cat1491527&prodId=prod280005a

;)

nagash66
05-01-2010, 11:40
http://www.games-workshop.com/gws/catalog/productDetail.jsp?catId=cat1300046&prodId=prod280005a&rootCatGameStyle=

If you dont like the model, any IG officer with the same weapons would work.


Edit: curse youre ninja powers!

Spinxy
05-01-2010, 11:57
mmm sweet

also just a question about the stalk the enemy rule, when it says infantry platoon, is there a limit to the size of this platoon?

Mort
05-01-2010, 12:01
no,only the normal regulations of infantry platoons, nothing special...

freddieyu
05-01-2010, 12:14
I use the old colonel schaeffer model to represent my "Captain Sidewinder".....and in the last 2 games I have used him his platoon outflanking have been effective...I especially like the "Like the Wind" order, as using it the turn after the squad comes in means you can fire all your weapons (even the heavy weapons) at full effect if you did not move during the movement phase, then use the d6" after to reposition as necessary....I use a blob squad with a commissar and PWs for additional "oomph" for his platoon....

Spinxy
05-01-2010, 12:26
no,only the normal regulations of infantry platoons, nothing special...

explain? lol im tired

freddieyu
05-01-2010, 12:49
this means that the minimum size for the platoon is the PCS where alrahem is, and 2 infantry squads...you can expand his platoon to include all options (add 3 more IG squads, 0-1 conscripts, 0-2 SWS, 0-5 HWT, chimeras for those that can get them, commissars too), all MUST outflank, and as a single platoon they all make the same roll for reserves, and come in at the same time...

Bunnahabhain
05-01-2010, 12:51
Guard platoons can be big, and going by the number of stupid questions about them quite complex....

A platoon is 25 (~150pts) to ~155 men and 6 chimeras (~2000pts), so one troops choice can happily be bigger than an enemy army. Nothing special...

Al'rahems platoon is a perfectly normal platoon, except it has him leading it, and outflanks.

Remoah
05-01-2010, 14:26
So if you do use Al'Rahem, i'd suggest you flood that platoon with the choices you want to outflank, and if that is your whole army, well... one squad stands as a proxy Vet Squad and the rest end up in Al'Rahem's mega-platoon...

Culven
05-01-2010, 15:19
I converted my Captain Al Ram for use in my Catachan army.

BiggsHancock
05-01-2010, 15:46
I've got a good sized Cadian army so I've scratched built many of the IG named characters, matching their wargear to make them WYSIWYG, from my bitz box. Suitably unique headswaps, a distinguishing paint job and clear indication to my opponents pre-game has allowed me to play several games with Creed (nice), Kell (over priced), Marbo (loving him), Pask (doesn’t fit my play style), Khan (always outflanking due to Creed’s Tactical Genius).

I used Al’Rahem with a blob of thirty (inc. 3x Plasma guns) for a couple of dozen games including Reading Warfare 09. This was effective when combo’ed with an Astropath (Front Rank Fire will statistically delete ten MEQs in cover). However, I couldn’t make him cost effective. 350-ish points for a unit which is nerfed if the enemy doesn’t sit within 18” of a short table edge? Ten Rough Riders, outflanking with Khan and a couple of meltas now fill the same roll for half the points.

Biggs

Spinxy
07-01-2010, 00:55
off topic for a min

in the guard dex it says that an infantry platoon counts as a SINGLE troops choice in the FOC, so for dawn of war deployment, i could deploy TWO platoons which count as my TWO troop choice

is this correct?

trigger
07-01-2010, 00:59
off topic for a min

in the guard dex it says that an infantry platoon counts as a SINGLE troops choice in the FOC, so for dawn of war deployment, i could deploy TWO platoons which count as my TWO troop choice

is this correct?

Yep thats right

Conspyre
07-01-2010, 01:05
Re-read the rules for Dawn of War deployment. It does not refer to FOC slots, but to actual individual units. In the example, a Tactical Squad and their Rhino count as separate units, the parts of an Infantry Platoon are certainly not all one unit for that purpose.

Toadius80
07-01-2010, 01:08
In my humble opinion, the best use for him is in a mechanised platoon. 3+ chimera's arriving all of a sudden tend's to throw most peoples game plan straight out of the window. Add to that a few outflanking sentenel's...

SirSnipes
07-01-2010, 02:37
i run him with 5 squads of guard all with plasmas, his squad has 4 meltas, 3 HW teams of 3X mrls, 2X melta special weapon teams and of course, 9 mrl scouting sentinels

really pisses of the enemy when they arrive

freddieyu
07-01-2010, 04:22
Yep thats right

nope..you get to deploy only 2 UNITS (and this includes transports!) only...

sometimes they really need to walk in you know...

Khorneflakes
07-01-2010, 08:02
my units are:

a 50 man, 5 autocannon wielding squad
a 30 man, 3 rocket launcher squad
and my 5 man command hq with attached specialists.

marv335
07-01-2010, 10:57
off topic for a min

in the guard dex it says that an infantry platoon counts as a SINGLE troops choice in the FOC, so for dawn of war deployment, i could deploy TWO platoons which count as my TWO troop choice

is this correct?


Yep thats right


No.
That's not right.
You may deploy two units from troops.
Troops choices with multiple selections do not count as one choice.
The DoW rules are quite clear on this.

Including giving examples.

Khorneflakes
11-01-2010, 22:00
my set up is right thou? marv?

Culven
11-01-2010, 22:15
my set up is right thou? marv?
Yes. Your setup includes two Troops units (which happen to be combined squads) and one HQ unit.

Khorneflakes
11-01-2010, 22:18
oh marv the years havent been kind to you! :D:D:D:D