PDA

View Full Version : How to use Dragon Ogres

HughbertofKhorne
11-01-2010, 02:52
I'm a huge fan of Dragon Ogres, I love them, ever since I started playing I have been in love with them.

They are however, flimsy.

With only Toughness 4, and a 4+ armour save I find Dragon Ogres too easily taken out by bowfire, and Dark Gods help them if there's artillery on the table.

I personally tend to equip them with greatweapons, field them in units of 3 aqnd behind either the chaos knights or 2 screens of 5 hounds.

My reasoning follows this train of thought.

With average-high leadership and the will of chaos, Chaos armies don't need to fear panic as much as other armies, so I march the Drogres behind a screen (hounds or knights depending on what im facing) as my oponents nearly always deploy at the very edge of the table they end up getting the charge first, the screen flees through the Dragon Ogres (risky I know) and the Dragon Ogres counter charge.

Now with Knights it may seem a bit odd that I'm making them flee through the Drogres but, I tend to play Empire Knights a lot and S7 is a lot better at getting through their armour than S5, my Drogres can rout/destroy them in a turn with average dice rolls, my knights might be there for two or three and if I let the enemy get the charge a lot of the time I'm facing S5 or S6 hits striking me first. Not desirable in the least.

This I've found makes the Drogres a lot more viable, particularly when the Knights rally and both units then begin rolling up the enemies battle line.

What are other people's thoughts on how to use them?

snottlebocket
11-01-2010, 05:28
I just roll them up the flank and come in from the sides. It takes an extra turn but they catch less attention. The center is usually filled with knights and infantry anyway.

The only time I deploy them elsewhere is if I want them directly across a very suitable target like chariots or skaven lightning crap.

sulla
11-01-2010, 05:40