PDA

View Full Version : Starting Vampire counts

Parad0x
12-01-2010, 05:01
First off, I'm new to Fantasy, I've been in 40k for some time, until I saw my friend's Vampires. I liked them so much at first sight, I wanted to start my own.

Now, my first question is, a guy I know happens to sell a few units of Grave guards, with great weapons. They are assembled, and painted. He's making a good deal on them too, less than 50% of new price i think, what I want to know is two things. One - how exactly do they fare in combat, meaning, will I need them (from what I could figure while searching, they are powerful), and will I need them exactly with those great weapons already attached? Second thing, how many will I need them? He's selling a couple of those units.

Next, what else do you reccomend me to buy for my army? I'm looking at a garrison right now, how do I build from there?

And finally, the infamous blood knights. How effective are they? I've heard some freaky stories about them, and the models price is really saying something, too. So I'd appreciate their review in a nutshell.

Kayosiv
12-01-2010, 08:24
I would highly recommend looking at ALL of the army books before you spend hundreds of dollars on vampires. Not that vampires are "wrong" but you certainly should check out everything, perhaps there is something you'll like even more. Best find out now before you are invested.

Grave Guard are excellent and one of the hardiest infantry units in the game. You will need at one unit of around 20-25. You do not need more than this, although you certainly could without it hurting you.

You NEED the following. 2 vampires, 2 units of either skeletons or ghouls (I personally would recommend ghouls), and a bunch of zombies. I would highly recommend picking up a corpse cart, either some dire wolves or bats (I recommend the wolves, but both serve the same purpose), and a unit of Black Knights.