PDA

View Full Version : GW Gaming Nights

Silent Tristero
19-01-2010, 16:23
Recently I've been interested in starting to play some WH/40k again, and I recall being told that GW Stores have a night for 'older' gamers to come in and play - i'm 23, and whilst I don't particularly mind who I play, someone who wouldn't get thrown out of a pub would be a bonus.

Anyone here frequent these evenings instore? I'm in Leicester, if anyone has anything specific to add. Wondering what kind of experience I can expect, and if it's ok to generally just show up with some stuff to paint/play.

My main concern is I'm out of the loop on the rules, and reading the books isn't enough; I need some games to start remembering this stuff - and I'm not sure where to do this. I'm not a beginner, I don't want the 'This is a scary troll, he's really angry and he can do this stuff!' demo, but I will forget things and be checking rules alot.

kris.sherriff
19-01-2010, 19:08
The best thing I can suggest is to just go down to the store and chat with the staff telling them what you want.

When I used to play in my local shop before setting up a games club I was one of the people who the staff would "pass on" people like yourself to. The idea being to give you a nice slow paced game with a list that was not stupid just to get you back up to speed.

I am sure there are people like myself who go to most GW's so just pop in and see what happens.

Kris

yabbadabba
19-01-2010, 19:25
Leicester Manager is called Sim (Simon). An ace bloke and will help you out no probs. Have fun mate.

Chaos and Evil
19-01-2010, 19:30
Thirded!

A lot of people start playing GW games again in their 20's, and your local GW can help you find somewhere to game at, either on their game nights or at a local club. Just pop in and have a chat with 'em!

magath
19-01-2010, 21:52