PDA

View Full Version : Trygon/Mawloc assembly tutorial on GW site



Vineas
19-01-2010, 16:25
Trygon/Mawloc assembly tutorial up on GW along with a little tabletop "tactics".

They mention the Mawloc DS and what happens if you DS onto troops but unfortunately they didn't make it clear if you could do it on purpose or not.

Ah well. Good article for anyone who hasn't assembled it and might need some guidance.

Malarick
19-01-2010, 16:54
They mention the Mawloc DS and what happens if you DS onto troops but unfortunately they didn't make it clear if you could do it on purpose or not.

Yes, you can aim for the enemy when deep striking with the Mawlock. That is pretty much the point of their rule.

"The Terror from the Deep special rule means the Mawloc will Deep Strike directly beneath the enemy causing carnage in their midst."

LonelyPath
19-01-2010, 17:23
Yep, you can intentionally DS it onto enemy units. if you read the rules in its entry for it's DS, you place the model after all the damage is dealt and surviving models are moved out of the way, so there's no confliction with the DS rules form the BRB.

However, it can still scatter off the unit if you're not so lucky.

Vexbane
19-01-2010, 17:26
This is from the website:

"On the Tabletop: The Mawloc's strength obviously lies in the fact that your enemy will not be prepared, and will not know where it will strike. The Terror from the Deep special rule means the Mawloc will Deep Strike directly beneath the enemy causing carnage in their midst.

If you Deep Strike onto a point occupied by another model you place the large blast template over the spot where the Mawloc is emerging, and every unit under the template suffers a S6 hit equal to the number of models in the unit that are wholly, or partially, covered by the template. The attacks are even more devastating as they ignore armour saves, and any vehicles are always struck in the rear armour.

Another great feature of the Mawloc is its ability to burrow. As long as the Mawloc is not in close combat it can choose to re-burrow during its Movement phase. The model is removed from the table, and can Deep Strike again in the same devastating fashion in the next turn."

Seems even though it does not say directly it can indeed DS onto enemy models like it was designed.

Scryer in the Darkness
19-01-2010, 17:30
The Mawloc's Terror from the Deep special rule is covered in minute detail and extreme pedantry in the 40K Rules thread: :rolleyes:

http://www.warseer.com/forums/showthread.php?t=239434

Shadowfax
19-01-2010, 18:01
How have you guys been facing your Trylocs?

Faced towards the broad arc of the base?

Faced towards the narrow arc of the base? (All of the GW pictures I've seen have gone this way)

I'm wondering if one way or the other will be more practical when it comes to entering terrain/balancing on terrain/charging without getting tangled up/etc.

dariakus
19-01-2010, 18:36
What happens if it would deep strike within 1" of an enemy model, though? That's not *on* an enemy model, so would it mishap as normal?