PDA

View Full Version : S7 against chariots -combat res



Da Crusha
04-02-2010, 04:39
if a herald with a firestorm blade causes 2 S7 wounds against a unit of tomb king chariots does it count as causing 2 wounds when determining combat res or does it count as causing 6 wounds (because each chariot has 3 wounds)?

Taureus
04-02-2010, 04:46
EDIT: I was thinking of something else.

Apologies.

Eric.Miller
04-02-2010, 04:55
It's not overkill to count how many wounds the chariots actually have.

He dealt 6 wounds. So he scores 6.

What he doesn't do is score more than 6. That would be overkill.

Necromancy Black
04-02-2010, 05:24
No, it only counts as 3 wounds. If it's not a challenge then you can not put mroe wounds on a model and how many it currently has. If the chariot has 3 wounds and you do 2 Str7 wounds on it, it only counts as 3 wounds.

Da Crusha
04-02-2010, 05:59
No, it only counts as 3 wounds. If it's not a challenge then you can not put mroe wounds on a model and how many it currently has. If the chariot has 3 wounds and you do 2 Str7 wounds on it, it only counts as 3 wounds.

the herald was in Base contact with one chariot but there were 4 in the unit, no challenge in the combat. so would both his wounds be dealt to just one of the chariots or could he assign the second one to the next chariot? it looked like this:

___BBB
CCCHHB
___HHB
___BBB

the herald is on a juggernaught in a unit of bloodletters.

sulla
04-02-2010, 07:13
No, it only counts as 3 wounds. If it's not a challenge then you can not put mroe wounds on a model and how many it currently has. If the chariot has 3 wounds and you do 2 Str7 wounds on it, it only counts as 3 wounds.Why? First hit destroys a chariot. Second idiot charioteer comes to see what happened to his friend and meets the same fate, just like normal rank and file. 2 hits that each destroy a chariot = 6 wounds CR.

EldarWonderland
04-02-2010, 07:44
I'll go with Sulla.

I've had a unit of 4 chariots splattered by 3 Dragon Ogres with great weapons.
I had no problems with how he minced them up, next time I won't be so optimistic about getting rid of them with a frontal charge - I killed one of them but the other 2 turned me into firewood.

Adran
04-02-2010, 07:46
It would count as 6 wounds for combat resolution as it has destroyed 2 chariots.
If it were in a challenge it would only count for 4 wounds one of which was overkill.

Necromancy Black
04-02-2010, 08:02
Sorry, didn't see that part about it being a unit of chariots. In that case yes, each Str 7 wound would destroy a single chariot, giving you CR in how many wounds each had left.

T10
04-02-2010, 14:53
BTW: Chariots specifically lose all remaining wounds when taking an unsaved wound from a hit with S 7+.

-T10

N810
04-02-2010, 14:57
Look up the Killing blow rules in the BRB and the last FAQ they cover
the issue of auto killing things and wounds and combat res...

Maoriboy007
04-02-2010, 21:38
I hope thats one of the things to go in 8th edition :)

Malorian
04-02-2010, 21:47
I hope thats one of the things to go in 8th edition :)

I hope they say you insta-kill anything with str 8+ ;)

Bye bye monster lists!