PDA

View Full Version : Wood Elf army trying to beat Lizard Men

khaosBlizzard
09-02-2010, 02:06
Im pretty new to warhammer (fantasy that is) and I play Wood Elves. Ive only played one game so far; 800pt battle vs Dark Elves. I won! woot! but I'm going to be playing against my friend's Lizard Men in a few days and he is notoriously good with them. I'm planing on like a 2500 Point battle but i have no idea which units will be good against Lizard Men. Can anyone give me some units that might be useful? or maybe some strategy to beating Lizard Men?

The units I have are:

-Lords/ heros (wardancer, Great Weapon, sorcerer, 2 riders, scout/waywatcher, alter-kindred, and 1 with a standard)
-30 Glade guard
-15 Scouts
-8 Glade Riders
-16 Dryads
-10 Wild Riders (and a wild rider noble on stag)
-4 Warhawk Riders
-5 Tree Kin
-6 Wardancers
-1 Great Eagle

Stegadeth
09-02-2010, 02:46
It really will depend on your friend's list. Being Mobile and shooty will help you a great deal in most cases, however. Lizardmen have atrocious initiative so try and exploit that. If he brings a Carnosaur use your flying models to bait him around the table as best you can once he is frenzied. Skink Skirmishers are pure hell on high toughness, low armor units. They have a short range though. If he brings a Slann + Skink Priest on Engine of the Gods the flaming attacks and Burning Alignment can really ruin a tree's day. Shutting down magic could be a huge boon.

khaosBlizzard
09-02-2010, 03:27
Thanks for the tips. I'll be sure to use them to, hopefully, win. :D

blackjack
09-02-2010, 03:47
Yes the most powerful and to a wood elf threatening army Lizzies can bring is high magic. So pile on the defense.

Witchblade
09-02-2010, 08:55
Noble, Alter Kindred, Hail of Doom Arrow, Great Weapon, Shield, Light Armour, Helm of the Hunt. Option: change the HoDA to annoyance of netlings, if no other character has it.