PDA

View Full Version : Chalice of Dark Rain vs Anvil Shooting



decker_cky
09-02-2010, 20:17
Chalice of Dark Rain is basically a one shot stormbanner, only without the magic missile clause. Instead, when talking about non-BS weapons it states:

Weapons or attacks that do not use Ballistic Skill may only fire on the roll of a 4+

The other relevant rule is this from the BRB FAQ part 2:

http://www.games-workshop.com/MEDIA_Custom..._part2_Feb_2009 (http://www.games-workshop.com/MEDIA_CustomProductCatalog/m2220025_Warhammer_FAQ_part2_Feb_2009)


Q. Many army books have magic items that
provide protection against ‘Missiles’. However the
Main Rulebook does not provide a comprehensive
definition of what ‘Missiles’ are. Can you please
provide us with guidance on what ‘Missiles’ are in
regards to Magic Items?
A. We assume that the word ‘missiles’ includes all
attacks executed in the Shooting phase as well as
spells that are labelled as ‘magic missiles’.

I take that to mean rune of wrath and ruin would need an additional 4+ to be used if the chalice is activated.

Am I missing anything in that interpretation?

WLBjork
10-02-2010, 05:22
Them's the breaks.

I'd already accepted that effect of the Q&A on the Anvil. Might not be "sensible", but it is simple.

sulla
10-02-2010, 19:35
Them's the breaks.

I'd already accepted that effect of the Q&A on the Anvil. Might not be "sensible", but it is simple....No less sensible than an anvil that shoots lightning at things it can't even see...:D

decker_cky
10-02-2010, 19:49
Actually....from the fluff effect of the Chalice, covering everything in thick mud basically, I think affecting the anvil in that way makes sense.

The SkaerKrow
10-02-2010, 20:31
Agreed, instead of a crisp "clang!" you get an anti-climatic "splurt!"