PDA

View Full Version : choosing an army

artekfrost
28-02-2010, 22:36
I'm new to warhammer 40K and im trying to decide which army i want to ply i currently have no models and a limited income

my to favorites are chaos space marines and tyranids and maybe eldar but I'm having trouble deciding which to go with

Lord Asgul
01-03-2010, 00:26
CHAOS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Be evil and destroy pointless objectives for no reason just because you can! You can do anything you want as a chaos player...

wazatdingder
01-03-2010, 00:34
Of your choices, chaos is the best for limited income.

Crimifa
01-03-2010, 00:37
Depends what you like...

both asethetically and game mechanic-wise. For example, no point going tyranids if you like to have tanks driving around.

limited income is a bit of a thing, tyranids can be a bit expensive to a new player (you either need to buy and paint alot of bugs or buy expensive big monsters, or a mixture of the two)

chaos would be a good army for a newer player, they are like space marines and can be forgiving to someone learning. I always suggest chaos whenever someone says they don't want to use the all-to-common space marines but want to start a powerful army (doesn't work all the time though, sometimes peeps just don't want marines of any kind).

ultimately it should boil down to the army you WANT to use. a ravening alien horde of bugs and monsters? a bunch of depraved super-soldiers bent on doing various evil things (i don't know what chaos wants to do anymore...) or an ancient race of space elves?

all are good, personally i am leaning to eldar/tyranids myself recently... monsterous creatures do it for me, so nidzilla or wraithlord/guard armies

Charistoph
01-03-2010, 00:45
Depends what you like...

both asethetically and game mechanic-wise. For example, no point going tyranids if you like to have tanks driving around.