PDA

View Full Version : Skaven Advice?

New Cult King
08-03-2010, 01:01
I've always loved the idea of Skaven but was put off by the old minis for the rank and file Clanrats. The new models are amazing (albeit expensive) and with some nice online retailer discounts, I'm considering starting an army.

I have no experience playing Fantasy - it seems each army I try and start fizzles shortly after. However this time I'm keen to make a real go of it, so I have some questions :)

Are the newest Skaven rules considered overpowered like Daemons and VC? I don't want to drop a lot of time and effort into collecting and paintig a force if people are just going to groan and roll their eyes when I start setting up.

Do Skaven armies have to have tons of Clanrats to be effective? I know Skaven are a horde army, but are there ways of minimizing the sheer number of minis I would need to paint?

I love the new Deathmaster mini - is he viable on the tabletop?

How many units (and what sizes) of Stormvermin would you take in say a 2000pt list?

I think that's it for now :)

Dantès
08-03-2010, 02:35
Skaven aren't the kind of army someone would refuse to play, unless you're running 2 HPA and 2 Furnace's in 2k.

You don't HAVE to have a hordey Skaven list to be effective.

For example,

Plague Priest on Furnace with assorted items
Snikch
Warlock lvl 1, 2x dispel

30x Clanrats with shields, Full Command
30x Stormvermin, shields, Full Command, Storm Banner
21x Slaves, muso
21x Slaves, muso
30x Plague Monks, Full Command, Plague Banner
8 Plague Censer Bearers
Doomwheel
HPA

That's a 2000 point list, pretty effective. You can run a slightly less effective list but with less models with something that looks like this:

Grey Seer on Bell
Snikch
Warlock Engineer, lvl 2, Energy Condenser, Doomrocket
30x Stormvermin, Shields, Full Command, Storm Banner
-Doomflayer
30x Stormvermin, Shields, Full Command
-Doomflayer
21x Slaves, muso
21x Slaves, muso
6xPlague Censer Bearers
Doomwheel