PDA

View Full Version : stand and shoot?



phoenixcrh
08-03-2010, 14:59
Can I still stand and shoot at a unit if they fail their charge?

theunwantedbeing
08-03-2010, 15:08
Yes, stand and shoot is done before chargers are moved.

Souppilgrim
08-03-2010, 18:43
What if you are using pistols against flyers....so they aren't in range until they have moved over 10"?

stripsteak
08-03-2010, 18:51
the rules for when stand and shoot happen are on page 19 and fairly clear about when they are done. Souppilgrim your question is answered in the third paragraph.

lsuedd
08-03-2010, 22:40
im a complete noob. I got the main rulebook and the empire codex. I was looking at the outriders and it says that the champ can have a grenade launcher or hochland long rifle, but cant find any rules for these types of weapons. Where are the rules for special weapons like these?

dublin
09-03-2010, 00:35
Most books have a special armoury section, just give your book a flip through its in the empire army book somewhere.

Zaustus
09-03-2010, 04:56
The rules for those weapons are on p.47 of the Empire army book.

Souppilgrim
09-03-2010, 19:27
the rules for when stand and shoot happen are on page 19 and fairly clear about when they are done. Souppilgrim your question is answered in the third paragraph.

Sorry I wasn't clear. Forget the flyer thing. A unit has a move of 10". Pistoliers stand and shoot the unit that is charging 20". In reality the charger is going to fail its charge by an inch and a half. Where does the charger end up? 10" from it's starting position? <--which is further than the 8" range on the pistols. Or 8" from the standing and shooting unit? <---a total of 12" move, too much for a failed charge.

Rodman49
09-03-2010, 19:43
Flyers move their entire distance (20") in a failed charge. Here is the related text from the BRB page 68:


The flying move is not doubled like a ground charge is and so, even in the case of a failed charge, flyers will still move the full 20" towards the enemy.

Nurgling Chieftain
09-03-2010, 19:58
If a failed charge doesn't get in range, then the unit trying to S&S will not get to fire.