PDA

View Full Version : Formation.

Jedi152
13-02-2006, 11:59
A quick question about formation: In your experience, is it better to have a smaller frontage and more ranks - so you retain your rank bonus for longer, or a wider frontage and less ranks - so more models can fight?

If i had 35 zombies, would it be more advantageous to go for 7 wide by 5 deep? Or 4 wide by (roughly) 9 deep?

Thanks in advance!

Your Mum Rang
13-02-2006, 12:06
I've also been wondering about this.

I have 24 Marauders and 12 Marauders. I was thinking 6x4 and the 12 in 5/5/2 or 6x2.

I have no experience with these kinda things.

SuperBeast
13-02-2006, 12:21
From experience, most of my opponents prefer ranks to get the static combat res, but there are exceptions.
The most common units I've seen with wider frontage...

Undead
Stubborn
Unbreakable
Attack-heavy units (eg. Witch Elves)

With the first 3, even if they lose, it's unlikely to be disastrous because they're unlikely to go anywhere.
With number 4, it's because they are more likely to get a better combat res through having more attacks rather than more ranks.
Another way of looking at it is that Elite infantry, for example, generally have +1Ld. So a kind of 'built in rank bonus', if you will - so they can afford the extra attacks as a gamble.

I generally wouldn't recommend wider frontage than ranks with core troops, unless you're a horde army (eg. Gobbos or Skaven)

Gorbad Ironclaw
13-02-2006, 12:34
Why would you go with a wide unit of zombies or skeletons?
They can't kill anything. There is very little reason to provide a wider unit, generally all it will do is ensure the opponent can get to fight with all his models, or even bring in two units. For undeads, and indeed most other units ranks are much, much better than going wide.

The only case where going wide is a good idea, is when you have models that are actually quite good at killing things. Witch elves being an example.

If your in doubt, go for ranks.

Pravus