PDA

View Full Version : 2250 HE friendly, newbie list

verax
07-04-2010, 03:34
So, I am brand new to Warhammer. Played my first ever game a few days ago, and I'm hooked. I've decided that I like the High Elves. My friends play 2250 games. I want to make a decently powerfull, but not over the top army. I wanted it to be fairly newbie friendly, as I've only played 2 games thus far. I love White Lions from lore, so I wanted a Chrace flavor army.

So here is what I'm thinking so far:

1 Prince: Star Dragon, Dragon Armour; Shield, Vambraces of Defence, Star Lance - 627 Pts

1 Noble: (goes with the WL's) Great Weapon; Dragon Armour; BSB; Battle Banner - 204 Pts

1 Mage: (bunkered in the Seaguards) LVL 2, Annulian Crystal, Gem of Courage - 185 Pts

2 Lion Chariot - 280 Pts

16 White Lions (full command), Lion Standard - 310 Pts

1 Great Eagles @ 50 Pts

1 Repeater Bolt Thrower @ 100 Pts

14 Seaguard (full command and shield) - 220 Pts

10 Archers - 110 Pts

Total Army Cost so far: 2186

I know that the dragon is considered cheesy, but it seems like a good starting point for me. In the future, maybe go Griffon instead.

I know that the Seaguard are disputed, and poo-poo'd, but I'd like to try them. I figure that I can like them up 10 accross with a second rank of 5 to shoot, then when something closes on them, do a reform to a 5x3 for more durability. The idea would be that they stay to help protect the RBTs. (my friend likes to play tomb kings, and has these annoying scorpions that come up behind the lines.)

The Noble in the White Lions with the Battle Banner gives them not only durability, but brings some punch I think.

The Mage will bunker in with the Seaguards for a little protection. He's mainly a defensive tool, to make sure we don't get pelted too badly with magic.

I've still got some tweaking to do, and some points left, but I wanted to get some expert opinions before it's too late. I'm eager to start buying and putting them together! :)