PDA

View Full Version : Do the LotR expansion books contain scenarios from the movies and books?

bluekitsune13
22-04-2010, 16:41
Not a lot of my friends are into LotR, and I'm just getting into it myself. I'm most interested in playing scenarios instead of regular pitched battles. I looked online at some of the scenarios that GW has, which were taken from the books and movies. They tell you exactly what units each force has, and give an objective.

I have the regular LotR rulebook, but it doesn't really list any scenarios. I see there are half a dozen other books on the GW site that are book specific (the Two Towers) or force specific (Mordor). Do those books have scenarios in them too?

captain krak
22-04-2010, 17:01
Yes, both the journey books (Fellowship, Two Towers, Return of the King), and the sourcebooks (Mordor, Ruins of Arnor, etc.) contain a lot of scenarios. The Journey books are pretty much linked campaigns of scenarios, but also with articles on terrain building, painting, and info on the forces involved. All great books imho.

Whitwort Stormbringer
22-04-2010, 17:18
The "Journey Books", i.e. The Fellowship, Two Towers, and Return of the King, all have movie- or book-specific scenarios. Other books do have scenarios that are similar in composition (i.e. they tell you the participants and objectives, rather than a "pitched battle" type of scenario), but these are not always straight from the books. Many of them are based on background stories in Tolkien's Middle Earth, though.

Most of these scenarios will also have guidelines for using forces other than those outlined, if you wanted to try them out with different characters but still play the same general battle and objectives.

I don't have Gondor in Flames, Khazad Dum, Mordor, or Harad, so I can't say for sure what's included in there, but here's a quick rundown of what some of the other sourcebooks include.