PDA

View Full Version : Kislevs - Tournament legal?

Emperor Fooble
25-04-2010, 07:17
Are the Kislevs still a legal army at fantasy tournaments?

Both on their own, and used as an allied contingent as described in their small and only army book?

Sorry if a dumb question, but I'm brand new to fantasy, having been convinced to move down from 40k after a few years.

Artinam
25-04-2010, 07:56
It depends on your tournament organizers. I have seen a few tournaments who do allow them (either seperatly or as a single army), whereas most don't (most still allow Dogs of Wars though).

Your best bet is contacting the organizers from the tourneys you want to attend.

Emperor Fooble
25-04-2010, 08:11
Just checking, because I dont want to get an army going only to have it banned from friendly games and the like.

Do games workshop held tourneys allow them?

I'm thinking more along the lines of a pure army, because mixed might be a little iffy.

But was a FAQ or something ever released saying kislev are outdated like the EoT teams?

snottlebocket
25-04-2010, 19:57
Just checking, because I dont want to get an army going only to have it banned from friendly games and the like.

Do games workshop held tourneys allow them?

I'm thinking more along the lines of a pure army, because mixed might be a little iffy.

But was a FAQ or something ever released saying kislev are outdated like the EoT teams?

In a pinch you can always use the empire rules. The infantry is fine as is. Swordsmen could just as easily be axemen. Boyars or greatswords makes no great difference either.

Imperial knights are a bit heavier armoured than winged lancers, but to be honest you could use the edge if you're going to spurn warmachines. Put the better save down to the lancer's superior agility on horseback to evade blows. The knights even have a banner that'll let them cause fear on the charge, just like the old lancers.