View Full Version : characters action backflip from exploding chariots into nearby units!

26-04-2010, 09:16
When a character's chariot mount is destroyed is the character able to join a unit within 2 inches?

26-04-2010, 09:17
don't think so.
if your unit is destroyed joi cant either

26-04-2010, 09:33
If he's free in his movement phase, then yes. But immediately? No.

26-04-2010, 15:30
No? Thats interesting.

The way I read it the character just needs to move into contact with a unit to join it. If the unit is within 2 inches of the destroyed chariot then can't the character be placed touching the unit to join it?

Does this placement of the character not count strictly as a 'move' (even though the location of the character has literally moved)?

What other rulebook backing is there for/against characters joining units immediately after their chariot mount is destroyed?

26-04-2010, 18:51
the answer is no, because "moving" is different from "being placed". when the chariot is destroyed, the character doesn't move to a position w/in 2" of the chariot, the character is placed at any position w/in 2" of the chariot.

to join a unit of troops, a character has only to move so that he is touching it.

if a chariot is destroyed, any characters will continue to fight on foot. such characters are immediately placed by the controlling player anywhere within 2" of the place where the chariot was.

the destroyed chariot rules do no not say that you may make a move, and it doesn't put the placement in terms of moving. the character rules say that you have to make a move in order to join. the only times you can make a move are during the movement phase, or during a special rule's implementation (magic, item, etc). since the chariot rules lack any special indication of movement (implied or otherwise), i think that you don't have any evidence for why you should be able to do it.

permissive ruleset, blah blah blah, etc etc, and so on and so forth, et all, redundancy check fail, doh!