PDA

View Full Version : new to 40k, what SM chapter to go for

clarkey1991
28-04-2010, 00:33
hey guys, i was wondering if your endless wisdom would be able to help me. IM new to the hobby and havnnt bought any 40k models yet apart from a dreadnought about two years ago. However im coming back and have decided to collect a space marine army. but my real problem is which one to collect, i want to able to hit my enemy hard being able to maintain possesion of objectives etc. So can you guys help me. As soon as ive decided i'lll be able to draw an army list up and start buying lol

clarkey

bigcheese76
28-04-2010, 00:42
Were you planning on using the standard marine codex? Or did you want suggestions for things like Blood Angels, Dark Angels or Templars.

I would say at the moment, Bloood Angels are a good army, especially if you want them to be able to hit hard and then claim objectives. Also, they are really up to date having just had a new codex.

Bestaltan
28-04-2010, 01:55
Not to mention that the BA models are simply stunning in detail and sculpting. The new models.......wow.

technotemplar
28-04-2010, 02:54
I've played blood angels for several years now, sounds like what you are looking for. Black Templars (when they get their new dex) are also a good choice

Project2501
28-04-2010, 03:32
Make your own chapter, use whatever codex you like.

Nezalhualixtlan
28-04-2010, 03:52
Make your own chapter, use whatever codex you like.

Seconded. Make your own chapter, and use whatever codex you feel like for a list at the time. Just make sure it's internally legal, don't mix units from different codexes, and you'll be fine. Codex Marines, Space Wolves, and Blood Angels have rather recent codexes, and all three have very solid choices for potential builds in them.

ForgottenLore
28-04-2010, 03:53
Don't do Space Marines. Too bland and boring and way, way too common.