PDA

View Full Version : Giant vs Bloodskull pendant



TMATK
28-04-2010, 05:50
If a giant attempts to "pick up and..." a character with the bloodskull pendant, could that character use the pendant instead of attempting a single attack?

Milgram
28-04-2010, 06:57
deleted. for good. :)

inq.serge
28-04-2010, 07:47
I think he could. Also, if there are more enemy models than the giant in base contact with him, they are also hit, I believe.

(At least in challenges, every enemy model in base contact is hit, not only the one challenging. So, maybe the same goes for "pick up and"?)

T10
28-04-2010, 08:17
The pendant requires that the character give up his regular attacks and instead gain the benefit described. The free attack against the giant is not his regular attacks.

-T10

theunwantedbeing
28-04-2010, 13:26
It works with a tomb kings destroyer of eternities, so no real reason why it wouldn't work with the bloodskull pendant.

Taureus
28-04-2010, 14:25
The pendant requires that the character give up his regular attacks and instead gain the benefit described. The free attack against the giant is not his regular attacks.

-T10

To fight off the Giant's special attack, you get a single regular attack...Therefore you exchange that attack with the Pendant.

Simple as that.

rtunian
28-04-2010, 16:53
read the bloodskull pendant rules. it's actually clear:



instead of making his normal attacks for that round, the wielder of the bloodskull pendant may choose to inflict a s8 hit on every model in base contact. thise hits have the killing blow special rule.

it's not "trade any attack for pendant", it's "trade your normal close combat attacks for pendant". huuuge difference.

Taureus
28-04-2010, 17:43
read the bloodskull pendant rules. it's actually clear:



it's not "trade any attack for pendant", it's "trade your normal close combat attacks for pendant". huuuge difference.

What would you consider the counter attack made against the giant?

It's not modified in some way, so it's a (single) normal attack.

rtunian
28-04-2010, 18:04
What would you consider the counter attack made against the giant?

snip.

you said it right there. it's not a normal attack, it's a counter attack, and the only reason it is allowed is because of the giant's rules.

if it was a normal attack, the model would get to make it whether or not it was a giant, or a troll, or a pump wagon. it wouldn't matter what was in contact with him, as long as it's an enemy.

but, since the model does not get to make this attack unless a giant is in contact with it, the giant rolls "pick up and", AND the giant selects this particular model, it is very clearly not an attack that the model is normally allowed to make.

edit: furthermore, if the model had already made his normal attacks before the counter-attack, or if the model's counter-attack hit and wounded and then he rolled his normal attacks afterward, then he would have performed 2 sets of attacks in a single round of close combat, and that's obviously not normal.

Tymell
29-04-2010, 11:29
read the bloodskull pendant rules. it's actually clear:



it's not "trade any attack for pendant", it's "trade your normal close combat attacks for pendant". huuuge difference.

Sounds like that wraps it up pretty clearly to me, good stuff.

ashc
29-04-2010, 11:57
T10 and rtunian have this one.