PDA

View Full Version : Armies with a small amount of Models on the battlefield?

Riceeman
28-04-2010, 17:34
I'm not very good at painting up large units of Infantry. I'm just not commited enough to painet everyone uniformly. So I was wondering, out of curiosity and the possibility for a new army, which Races and what specific style with that race would result in a small amount of Models actually on the battlefield?

Yes, this isn't for a tournament - I realise flanking would be a problem in a competitive environment. Also, my first thoughts are a Cavalry Force or an Ogre army maybe. I'm not all-knowledgeable though, so any info would be really helpful. Thanks for reading.

puppetmaster24
28-04-2010, 17:39
all cavalry chaos warriors. or all ogre ogres are probably your best bets.

Stuffburger
28-04-2010, 17:52
all cavalry chaos warriors. or all ogre ogres are probably your best bets.

Those are probably the two lowest model count armies. If you want to minimize painting time you might be better off with high/wood elves as they are rather high pointed and small models. Ogres are pretty big, and cavalry is like painting 2, 2 1/2 models each.

Depends on how you plan on painting your force as to what would be faster, I don't have any facts to back me up.

DigitalDogParty
28-04-2010, 19:05
Yeah, I agree with the posters above. Personally, I find Ogres to be way too ugly to do. Aren't they even more expensive than cavalry? I 'unno. But in the long run, I just wouldn't do an Ogre army. Large cavalry looks real threatening though on the field.

Riceeman
28-04-2010, 19:27
I think Cavalry or Ogres appeal to me more then expensive Elves - The fact that they're small isn't particturlarly nice for me either. I like using Drybrushing alot, so I don't like having lots of fiddly cloth changes like on Wood Elves (Painted up one of my brother's Elves and it was just torturous).