PDA

View Full Version : Getting started with an army in LotR

fyedaddy
03-05-2010, 18:32
Hello all! I am brand new to LotR and am wanting to get started on building an army. What would you recommend to a new player that has purchased the Mines of Moria starter? Should I choose one of those sides to build upon or should I start from scratch? How did you guys get your start?

- V -
03-05-2010, 19:59
SBG or WoTR?

ForgottenLore
03-05-2010, 20:10
If you like small scale skirmish games then starting with the Strategy Battle Game (SBG) and working up to the big armies of War of the Ring (WotR) is a good plan, since the two games use basically the same miniatures.

Which army depends on what you like to play. 24 goblins and a cave troll is a good start on an army if playing goblins and monsters appeals to you, but if it doesn't then I would start an army from scratch (maybe leave the goblins as an introductory force you can teach people to play with)

I have no idea how effective the fellowship would be as the basis of a force for SBG but in WotR it isn't really the core of an army, it is an addition you buy for any of the good armies at higher point levels.

Whitwort Stormbringer
03-05-2010, 22:34
In SBG, most armies are pretty well balanced (some are better than others, and people have different opinions on just how well balanced, but just generally speaking here) so really I would say pick the faction that appeals to you most. On top of that, I've found for SBG that, since it can be played at such a small scale, you can easily get away with collecting small armies from several different factions if you want to. This will afford you a lot of variety in your gaming, since you won't always feel like you're running the same team.

There also aren't really hard and fast rules for what makes a legal army (there's the Legions of Middle Earth book, but it's not always enforced), so you could in theory have a hodge-podge army if you wanted to.