PDA

View Full Version : My Misidentity in the Hobby

Maskedman5oh4
04-05-2010, 03:56
Hell fellow Warseers,

This realization has been a long time coming; I started playing Warhammer 40k in 2nd edition as a Space Marine player. When I started playing, I had no clue. I did not clean mold lines, I did not prime my figures, I painted my Marines with testors oil based paints...but it was 1995 and I was twelve. I painted Bjorn the Fellhanded in Blood Angels colors and tried for months to assemble the box of 30 beakies while always asking my opponents if could field a screamer-killer (the old model) alongside my marines and thud gunns and Imperial Rapiers.. Things have changed... I came back to the hobby in 1999 as a 16 year old playing Tyranids. This was the first army I completed painting, although it was 100% dry brushed (but it made me happy), and I have continued playing Tyranids until present.

I have always found painting an arduous but gratifying task; often time I have a hard time starting (at all), but once I get going, I tend to go on a streak. I have always found painting my larger Tyranids (Warriors, Raveners, Tyrants, oh My!) easier to get through, where the horse of tiny ones bogs me down. But I also do not like painting with an unpainted force; it is a pet-peeve.

In 2003, I started my first attempts at Warhammer Fantasy; I purchased a painted Vampire Counts army. At the time, the fact that it was painted was attractive, but I confess it was a marginable job. After that, I bought a half painted Warriors of Chaos army circa 2005. I believe the books were still all combined then and with was mainly a mortal force painted in the Khorne style. I have always been more drawn towards Tzeentch but still played this army to ge tthe rules under my belt.