PDA

View Full Version : New to VC 2250 (with 8th rumors in mind)

Tomalock
09-05-2010, 05:27
So I am new to the Vampire Counts and am trying to craft a list that fits with the worst case scenarios of 8th (25% characters and rares, pain of magic, etc). I first got really interested in them when I saw how cool the Blood Knights are. I was going to field a bunch, but am limited to 562 points of them (only spent 550). So to make up for it I decided to add some Black Knights too (also only spending 25% on specials). I'll post some thoughts on what I want to do with them at the end. Here it goes:

Heroes

Vampire w/ BSB Drakenhof Banner, Dread Knight 275pts

Vampire w/ Blood Drinker, Dread Knight 165pts

Wight King /w steed, Sword of Kings 115pts

Total Heroes: 555pts

Core

Dire Wolves x5 40pts

Dire Wolves x5 40pts

Dire Wolves x5 40pts

Dire Wolves x5 40pts

Skeletons x20 w/ Icon of Vengence, SB, musician 197pts

Crypt Ghouls x20 160pts

Zombies x20 80pts

Total Core: 597pts

Special

Black Knights x10 w/ champ, Banner of Barrows 317pts

Black Knights x5 w/ barding, Banner of Hellish Vigour 209pts

Total Specials: 526pts

Rare

Blood Knights x9 w/ Banner of Strigos 550pts

Total Points: 2228pts

Ok so I know its not a very good list from the current VC perspective, and believe me I wouldn't be fielding this for 7th, but it seems like a good worst case scenario list. I am doing conversions for the Blood/ Black Knights, so its much more affordable than buying the real models. Basically the 2 vamps go with the Blood Knights, the WK goes with the big block of Black Knights. The wolves screen the force and protect the Blood Knights from themselves (frenzy). The other core aren't the most exciting, especially 20 zombies, but I need the blocks to be big because I won't be getting magic off, that is already a given with just 4 power dice.