PDA

View Full Version : Help For beginner wood elf player

101st Vostroyan
10-05-2010, 23:43
Hey guys. I've been playing 40k for 5 years, and fantasy for 3, so I am no noob to the game. The question I have though is how to structure my Wood elf army.

One of my friends has no more time for warhammer, and so he gave me his wood elf army. It consists of the army book, the battalion, 5 wardancers and 2 heroes, all unbuilt.

The fact that they are unbuilt makes it easier for me to structure the army since I can make units how I want them.

I don't want this army to be be bigger than a 1000 pts since I have, and am currently working on 5 other armies.

How should I split up the 24 glade guard, and should I give them command?
What is a good unit size for wardancers, and what else does any fledgling wood elf player need?

Thanks in advance:D

ClockworkCorsair
11-05-2010, 00:26
In 7th ed the best for dancers is 7. Glade guard are best in 10-12 w no command or just a musc. Glade riders are aqmazing and so are warhawk riders

VoodooJanus
11-05-2010, 00:34
Well, let me formally welcome you to the ranks of the Asrai!

First off, as you probably know, WE are generally a MSU army. That should probably inform most of your unit-size questions, but in general, here are the~ sizes you might want.

Glade Guard should never really be in a unit>10. You want to maximize any str. 4 glade guard shots you can get, and taking more than 10 to a unit simply wastes points (in all situations I've personally seen.) This is because you'll want to place them in, at most, 2 ranks to maximize shots. But if you don't have a hill, you'll have to settle for an awkward line of models that get quite cumbersome even @ 10 models wide. As for command, I generally stick with musician and that's it, because they don't stand up well in CC.