PDA

View Full Version : Flying Horrors, Nightmares and Units



Ultimate Life Form
14-05-2010, 21:21
Hi, I did a quick search but it didn't seem to yield any results so I'm not sure if it has been brought up before.

BRB, p.72: "Characters mounted on flying creatures cannot join units."

On the other hand, we have the VC FAQ that states that a Vampire with Flying Horror retains his flying ability while mounted on a Nightmare.

So we have a flying mounted model, but technically it's the Vampire who does the flying and somehow heaves the mount across the battlefield. He's not mounted on a flying creature.

So can he join units then or no?

theunwantedbeing
14-05-2010, 21:29
BRB, p.72: "Characters mounted on flying creatures cannot join units."

Ultimate Life Form
14-05-2010, 21:42
Thank you. :eyebrows:

Falkman
14-05-2010, 22:22
He can join the unit as he is not mounted on a flying creature; as you say, it is the character himself who does the flying, he just brings his mount along (which is about the most retarded FAQ ruling ever, but it's GW).

Necromancy Black
15-05-2010, 01:34
Pretty much that. The mount isn't flying so he can join units. This is different to flying while being mounted.

sulla
15-05-2010, 21:26
He can join the unit as he is not mounted on a flying creature; as you say, it is the character himself who does the flying, he just brings his mount along ( which is about the most retarded FAQ ruling ever, but it's GW).Top 5 most retarded, losing out to 'Monsterous characters' (WTF?) and chariot popping shurikens (Hiyahhh!... BOOM!). :D:cries:

Ultimate Life Form
15-05-2010, 21:30
What about 'the Slann can only float if surrounded by his Temple Guard'? :shifty:

Necromancy Black
16-05-2010, 00:25
At least that had something in the rules to go by. Where the hell did they get the rules for cupped hands on a 12 from?

T10
16-05-2010, 11:09
He can join the unit as he is not mounted on a flying creature; as you say, it is the character himself who does the flying, he just brings his mount along (which is about the most retarded FAQ ruling ever, but it's GW).

Well, duh!

-T10