PDA

View Full Version : Jabberslythe 'Bile Blood'



ftayl5
16-05-2010, 02:57
Just wondering, and this question works for the acid ichor WoC gift too, if a unit (of 10, 1 woundede models) kills a jabberslythe, takes 5 Str 5 hits, all of which wound = 5 wounds. Meaning half the unit has been killed...

The jabberslythe is dead, so technically the unit is no longer in close combat...

Do tehy have to take a panic test?

meneroth
16-05-2010, 02:59
does it say to resolve as shooting? if so then id say yes.

Zaustus
16-05-2010, 03:15
At least in the case of Acid Ichor (the WoC daemonic gift), the automatic hits are resolved as part of the combat. They happen after all other attacks, but they're still during the combat.

I don't have the Beastmen book, so I'm afraid I can't answer definitively for Bile Blood.

Kalandros
16-05-2010, 03:22
does it say to resolve as shooting? if so then id say yes.

You're saying something which is completely unrelated to the case.

If the unit in close combat kills the big thing and gets casualties from it while being in base contact with no other enemy unit...


NOTHING HAPPENS!


Panic Tests are not taken in the close combat phase for 25%+ losses.

T10
16-05-2010, 09:57
Just wondering, and this question works for the acid ichor WoC gift too, if a unit (of 10, 1 woundede models) kills a jabberslythe, takes 5 Str 5 hits, all of which wound = 5 wounds. Meaning half the unit has been killed...

The jabberslythe is dead, so technically the unit is no longer in close combat...

Do tehy have to take a panic test?

No.

1. Units in close combat do not take psychology tests (p. 48).
2. The panic rules do not require you to take panic tests for "25% casualties from close combat" (p. 49)

-T10

Necromancy Black
16-05-2010, 14:14
An FAQ has even stated that panic tests never happen because of taking 25% casualties in the combat phase. This includes all casualties that occur outside of actual combat.

khaosgoblin
18-05-2010, 08:41
The simple ruling here is that units in combat do not test for panic under any circumstances.

Khaosgoblin

T10
18-05-2010, 09:55
Since that is dependent on being in close combat, then surely that is one circumstance in which units do not take panic tests...

-T10

theunwantedbeing
18-05-2010, 19:48
The bile blood is worked out immediately, as in you resolve it there and then before proceeding with anymore attacks. It even counts towards combat resolution.
So it's impossible for a panic test to be caused.(other than for the jabberslythes side as a result of it dying within 6" of them)

The Aura of madness still affects units in close combat as they are not immune to psychology, they simply dont tak psychology tests.
Not that its been asked, but it seems worth pointing this out.