PDA

View Full Version : WotR or Fantasy?

GreyWolf
25-05-2010, 15:48
So I've been playing SBG for a few years now and as it gets less and less support I've been thinking about switching to WotR, but now the new edition of Fantasy is coming out I'm considering starting that as well. Which system would be a better choice?

By the way, I play Dwarves and Mordor for LotR and the armies I'm interested in for Fantasy are O&G, Skaven and High Elves.

Hellfury
25-05-2010, 15:52
Hard to compare the two systems. Especially since 8th edition isnt even released yet to compare it to WotR.

But since you already have an SBG force, why not try WotR and see how you like it instead of relying on others to tell you which system is 'better'?

bufordbugman
25-05-2010, 17:20
Agreed that since you already have a head start with SBG, it makes sense to invest a little more and try out WOTR, and if you like it keep on with it.

I used to think WHF was a slightly better system overall than WOTR for playing army-scale tabletop battles. Now I'm not so sure. And, in any case, 8th edition seems to be a MAJOR rejiggering of WHF, so current impressions of it by me or anyone else will be off anyway.

But erroneous or not, here's a quick comparison from someone who likes both systems but has lately come to prefer collecting and playing WOTR:

WHF positives:
- Better movement system (this is going to change radically in 8th ed. to become more like WOTR - too bad)
- More realistic combat system (win most often by breaking foe and making them run, not killing every single model in the unit)
- more mature ruleset, which means not as many gray areas for major rule dispute as WOTR, though disputes will still occasionally arise (too complicated a game with too many army special rules for them not to).